Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000238

    ICPSR - InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN) from ICPSR

The Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN) is an interdisciplinary study of how families, schools, and neighborhoods affect child and adolescent development. It was designed to advance the understanding of the developmental pathways of both positive and negative human social behaviors. In particular, the Project examined the pathways to juvenile delinquency, adult crime, substance abuse, and violence. At the same time, the Project also provided a detailed look at the environments in which these social behaviors take place by collecting substantial amounts of data about urban Chicago, including its people, institutions, and resources.

The Project's design consisted of two major components. The first was an intensive study of Chicago's neighborhoods, particularly the social, economic, organizational, political, and cultural structures and the dynamic changes that take place in the structures over time. The second component was a series of coordinated longitudinal studies that followed over 6,000 randomly selected children, adolescents, and young adults to examine the changing circumstances of their lives and the personal characteristics that might lead them toward or away from a variety of antisocial behaviors.

 

The PHDCN data and research materials were processed by the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) at the University of Michigan's Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR). A three-year award from the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation supported the initial archiving of PHDCN data and two summer workshops to train researchers in how to use these data. The National Institute of Justice provides continued support to maintain and further enhance the Project through an interagency cooperative agreement with NACJD.

The NACJD staff are making this large and complex data collection easily accessible to the research community by:

  • Building quantitative data files in SAS, SPSS, and Stata formats
  • Building fully documented, downloadable codebooks in PDF
  • Building a variable-level database that is searchable through this Web site
  • Building a PHDCN Bibliography of Data-Related Literature
  • Maintaining this dedicated Web site to provide the research community with detailed methodological information about the study, the instruments, and the scales used in key analyses
  • Preserving for perpetuity the PHDCN research data and materials

NACJD disseminates the following types of quantitative data from PHDCN. The information provided on the pages listed shows the availability of each of the data components.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1994-present

Date

September 13, 2010


Related Links

Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.