Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content



    PsycNET from APA
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

PsycTHERAPY from APA PsycNet

Comprehensive coverage

  • More than 200 different topics covered throughout hundreds of hours of filmed demonstrations
  • Demonstrations exemplifying various therapist interactions with individuals, couples, and families

High-quality content and features

  • Interactions from therapy demonstrations utilizing a wide range of approaches
  • Contains only unscripted, spontaneous therapy sessions taped in the last 10 years
  • Highly flexible tool with synchronized, searchable transcripts that enhance user navigation and access
  • Ability to tag segments of each therapy demonstration to create, save, or share personal playlists

Authoritative publications

  • APA has produced educational therapy demonstration videos since the mid-1990s
  • All videos in PsycTHERAPY were originally taped in conjunction with the APA Psychotherapy Video Series and will only be available in PsycTHERAPY
  • Demonstrations conducted with master practitioners who are experts in their respective fields, featuring the most recent versions of classic therapeutic approaches as well as newer approaches


  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  


January 4, 2015


restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.


NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.