Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    RAMBI Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
This resource is freely accessible

RAMBI: The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies

RAMBI - The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies is a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in Rambi is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages- mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library, a world center for research on the Jewish people and Eretz Israel. The main criterion for inclusion in the bibliography is that the article be based on scientific research, or contain important information for such research. Since the inception of this bibliographic project in 1966, the editorial board has striven to include in it all of the important articles published throughout the world in the field of Judaica. Therefore, it includes offprints of articles from journals or collections not on order to the Library. Rambi also lists articles from secondary sources.

In 1985, Rambi began listing articles electronically as one of the databases on the ALEPH computer network of academic and research libraries in Israel, and in 2000, Rambi became accessible on the Internet via the WWW.  In 2001, Rambi published its 50th volume and also completed a retrospective conversion project made possible by a grant from The Lucius N. Littauer Foundation. With the availability of the entire corpus of Rambi's 50 volumes in each of Rambi's computer databases, publication of the printed volumes of Rambi was discontinued.

A typical record contains the following information: author(s); article title; abbreviated source name; citation (volume, issue, year, pages); narrow and broad subject classifications; full source name, including place of publication; year of publication; language of article. Every record in the Rambi database contains two distinct subject classification fields: a general classification field (e.g. Bible; Diaspora; Philosophy), and specific subject headings (e.g. Genesis: 1; USA: education; Maimonides: Moreh Nevukhim). Attempts are made to utilize the two fields in tandem to provide maximum subject descriptions of the articles.

Coverage

1906-present

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.