Reaxys is a unique web-based chemistry database consisting of deeply excerpted compounds and related factual properties, reaction and synthesis information as well as bibliographic data, navigated and displayed via an actionable interface. Reaxys offers an unsurpassed depth of quality information – deeply excerpted compounds and related factual properties, reaction and synthesis information, as well as bibliographic data – in inorganic, organometallic and organic chemistry research.
Reaxys’ scientific basis derives from the foundations of modern chemical documentation as laid down by two of the giants of German chemistry, Leopold Gmelin and Friedrich Beilstein. The two chemists published the Handbuch der Organischen Chemie (Handbook of Organic Chemistry) and Handbuch der Chemie (Handbook of Chemistry), and these two reference works, along with complementary primary literature and patent information excerption, were to form the foundation of the CrossFire Database Suite – three databases of fully searchable chemical structures and reactions, associated chemical and physical properties (including crystallographic, optical, spectral, magnetic, electrical, pharmacological, toxicological and ecotoxicological properties), as well as the conventional bibliographic aspects. The three separate databases covered organic chemistry, organometallic and inorganic chemistry, and the chemistry from relevant patents.
- Reaxys contains experimentally validated – not calculated – reaction and substance data, so that less time is spent interrogating results, and there are no false starts.
- More effective generation of synthesis strategies: Reaxys’ synthesis planner supports the evaluation of alternative synthetic routes and allows chemists to identify and combine selected reaction steps.
- Save time by getting relevant results: sophisticated relevance ranking algorithms combine with state-of-the-art filtering tools to help chemists find the answer they need. Reaxys prevents chemists from reading irrelevant articles and pursuing unsubstantiated references.
- Superior coverage: historical data dating back to 1771 and coverage of the most important current journal and patents within chemistry ensure that Reaxys provides a unified source for reaction and substance data. Chemists no longer have to waste time accumulating data manually.
- Deep dive into the chemical data: the data excerpted from the journals and patents meets carefully controlled selection criteria – namely that all organic, inorganic and organometallic properties and data are excerpted only if they have a structure, experimental fact and a credible citation. Reaxys delivers a detailed view of the chemistry data, so that the content is actionable, relevant and trustworthy.
- Immediate access to commercial availability services: decide whether to synthesize or buy – all the relevant commercial information, including quantity, pricing and vendor information is available within the research workflow.