A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #
Use this database to find/verify the paper number and date needed. Then request SAE Technical Papers from 2003-present through ILLiad. Earlier papers on CD-ROM:1994-2002 or on microfiche. 1965-1994.
Safari Books Online provides over 16,000 full-text ebooks (HTML) in computer science, information technology, and business. A few titles can be downloaded as PDFs.
SAGE Research Methods indexes full-text books, reference sources, the "little green book" series (Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences), the "little blue book" series (Qualitative Research Methods), journal articles, and videos. Since this platform focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used by researchers from the social sciences, health sciences, and more. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit searches by research method type. 1970s-present.
Salud en Español (Spanish Health) provides complete reports based on evidence and fact sheets (in HTML and PDF) related to all aspects of health and wellness. It includes issue-specific reports covering all aspects of health, provide important general information regarding diseases, conditions and procedures of various treatments.
The SANREM CRSP Knowledgebase indexes citations and full-text reports, books, journal articles, videos, and presentations related to sustainable agriculture and natural resource management in the developing world. Full text available in PDF, MS Word, and other formats.
The Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory, and film history.
Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans provides comprehensive information on sources of education-related financial aid sponsored and administered by private organizations and companies. It covers a variety of programs in all educational areas, including area and ethnic studies, business, computer science, education, liberal arts, medicine, physical sciences, theology and religion, and more.
Science.gov is a federated search engine that cross-searches over 45 scientific databases and over 2100 scientific websites.
Science Citation Index, a subset of Web of Science, indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text from journal articles and conference proceedings in all science disciplines. You can search cited references. 1975-present (older data available in print).
A faceted-searching interface for ScienceDirect that also includes content from PubMed, ETDs, numerous journal publishers, and digital repositories. We do not subscribe to Scopus, so no results from that database are included. Full-text content restricted to Virginia Tech users, but searching citations and abstracts is not restricted.
Full record
SciFinder Scholar indexes citations and abstracts from Chemical Abstract Services databases and MEDLINE including journal articles, patents, books, conference papers, dissertations, and reports. You can search text-based fields or draw chemical structures. You can perform cited reference searches. 1907-present. Limited to simultaneous users. Registration required.
SciTech Connect indexes citations and full-text technical reports, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, and data sets related to publicly available Department of Energy sponsored research. 1940s-present.
SEC Filings contains the full text of EDGAR filings from 1993 as well as annual and quarterly reports and proxy statements of more than 4,000 US companies, filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission since 1985. Full text available in HTML.
Six volume work covering vision, audition, olfaction and taste, pain, and somatosensation. Full-text searchable and browsable by author, title, and subject. Each entry is a separate PDF.
A collection of essays by Shakespeare scholars that have been selected for students at the high school or undergraduate college level. Each entry includes an introduction; a plot synopsis; a character list; a discussion of the work's principal themes; information about the style and literary devices used; a conversation about the work's historical context; and a critical overview. Full text available as HTML and PDF.
Shakespeare Survey is a yearbook of Shakespeare studies and production. Each volume is devoted to a theme, or play, or group of plays; each also contains a section of reviews of that year's textual and critical studies, and of the year's major British performances. Each chapter can be downloaded as a PDF. The books are illustrated with a variety of Shakespearean images and production photographs. 1948-present.
Shepard's Citations provides a comprehensive case citation and treatment history to verify the validity of case law, statutes, agency opinions, and other legal documents. Only case law is covered in LexisNexis Academic. The Shepard's Citations service also provides a report that shows every opinion where that case has been referenced.
Shock & Vibration Digest indexes abstracts, citations, and full text of journal articles, book reviews, and conference proceedings in the engineering fields of shock and vibration, noise, and vibration technologies. The full-text materials are available in both HTML and PDF formats. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1967-present.
SIMBAD indexes bibliographic references and data on astronomical topics: stars, galaxies, planetary nebulae, clusters, and novae and supernovae. Each object indexes has description data, cross identifications, observational data, plus a general bibliography of references to the object.
SmartBuilding Index provides architects, spec writers, engineers and contractors with in-depth information on commercial building products - including technical data, sourcing, cost data, project use examples, and downloadable specs, CAD and BIM objects.
The Smithsonian Library's Digital Library contains digital publications, collections and objects including online exhibitions, webcasts, digital editions, bibliographies and fact sheets, and finding aids/inventories for collections such as our trade literature collection and artist files.
This reference source include 901 tables of data relevant to engineering and physics. Each chapters is a separate PDF.
The Smoking and Health Database indexes citations and abstracts from medical and professional journals, books and book chapters, dissertations, reports, conference proceedings, government documents from federal, state, local, and foregin governments, fact sheets, and policy documents from U.S. and international nonprofits organizations. 1882-present.
Social Science Research Network indexes citation, abstracts, and some full text of pre-prints and other scholarly research papers.
This database indexes citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, conference papers, multimedia, government reports, statistics, and dissertations (in full text PDFs) across multiple social science and education databases on the ProQuest platform. Use the Databases link at the top of the screen to change which databases are searched. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1914-present.
Social Science Citation Index, a subset of Web of Science, indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text from journal articles and conference proceedings in all social science disciplines. You can search cited references. 1975-present (older data available in print).
Social Sciences in Forestry indexes citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and government documents concerning to the areas of legislation, policy and planning, management, economic development, investment, and finance in relation to forestry. 1985-present.
Social Services Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, book reviews, and theses and dissertations in the social science fields of social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1979-present.
Sociological Abstracts indexes abstracts and citations from journal articles, book reviews, books, conference papers, and theses and dissertations in the field of sociology, social and behavioral sciences, and related topics. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1952-present.
SAGE provides a collection of over 35 peer-reviewed journals with full-text articles (PDF) often back to volume one. You can search across this subject collection or our entire SAGE collection. 1952-present.
Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts indexes abstracts and citations from journal articles, conference proceedings, books, essays, reports, patents, and theses and dissertations in engineering and physical sciences. You can restrict to peer-reviewed sources. 1981-present.
Something About the Author Online provides full-text access to all volumes of Gale's award-wining reference set, Something About the Author, the main series, and Something About the Author: Autobiography Series, which contain illustrated biographical profiles of children's authors and illustrators. View scanned images of the entries or export PDFs. 1971-present.
SONIC catalogs some of the audio recordings held by the Library of Congress: radio broadcasts, speeches, musical and theatrical performances, news broadcasts. and interviews. Some selections have been digitized and available online.1930s-present.
S-PAC indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text conference proceedings on animal production and management. Full text available in PDF. 1935-present. Limited to simultaneous users.
English Poetry 1579-1830 indexes full-text poems, commentary, and biographical entries on writers from the English-speaking world. Full text in HTML.
SPIE Digital Library provides full-text journals and conference proceedings on the physical sciences of optics and photonics. Full text available as PDFs. 1990-present.
SpringerLink provides over 12,000 ebooks in architecture and design, business and economics, engineering and the physical sciences, the life sciences, medicine, humanities, and the social sciences. Each chapter is presented as a separate PDF. We have access to most English-language ebooks from 2005 forward (indicated with a green access icon).
SpringerLink provides full-text access to ejournals in the life sciences, medicine, engineering, physical sciences, humanities, and economics. Full text available in HTML and PDF. Most journals are online back to volume 1. References linked to PubMed, CrossRef, and ChemPort, which are alternatives to Get VText (try CrossRef first). 1832-present.
SpringerProtocols is a set of peer-reviewed, reproducible procedures for scientific experiments in the life sciences with step-by-step instructions in HTML and PDF and some streaming videos. 1980s-present.
SRDS Media Solutions provides media information: advertising rates, dates, and contact data with direct links to media kits and audit statements. It includes the six components listed in My Services. Some data can be exported as a spreadsheet.
S&P Industry Surveys provides full-text reports in HTML and PDF on North American and global industries. To find the content you're looking for, use the Publication Search tool located in the right-hand corner of the page or the keyword search tool located in the blue title bar. You can also access Industry Surveys directly using the drop-down menus immediately below the Publication Search tool.
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a constantly updated reference work. Entries are presented as HTML.
Structure Database indexes data on macromolecules such as proteins. You can view the structures, find similar structures, and see chemical interactions related to these structures.
SAMHDA provides data sets on substance abuse and mental health issues, plus the questionnaires/instruments used to collect the data. It also indexes bibliography citations on these topics. Most data sets can be downloaded in SAS or SPSS formats.
Sustainability Science Abstracts indexes abstracts and citations from journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, reports, theses, and dissertations in the fields of sustainable development, human population and demography, natural resource management, and conservation of natural resources. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1995-present.
Synthesis is a collection of about 200 ebooks in engineering and the sciences. Complete list of books. The basic component is a 50-100 page ebook called a Lecture that synthesizes important research or development topics, authored by a prominent contributor to the field that provide more synthesis, analysis, and depth than typical journal articles. Each ebook is a single PDF. 2005-present.
NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.