Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000227

    Society of Automotive Engineers
This resource is freely accessible

SAE Technical Papers

SAE International maintains over 8,300 technical standards and related documents. Use this database to find/verify the paper number and date needed. Then request SAE Technical Papers from 2003-present through ILLiad. Earlier papers on CD-ROM:1994-2002 or on microfiche.

Technical papers

SAE publishes several hundred Technical Papers annually. Each paper has an assigned accession number, with the first two digits indicating the year of publication. The complete set of Technical Papers makes up the Technical Papers series.

Selected Technical Papers are published as part of the Special Publication (SP) series.

Some Technical Papers are published in the Proceedings of the SAE series.

TheSP and Proceedings series are published throughout the year. A paper presented at a conference will be published as part of the Proceedings of the SAE soon after the conference is held. The complete Technical Papers series will also contain that conference paper.

Standards

SAE publishes three groups of industry standards:

  • SAE Ground Vehicle Standards, sometimes known as "J" standards
  • SAE Aerospace Standards
  • SAE Aerospace Material Specifications

SAE Technical Papers series - full runs

  • Microform 1965 - 1993. Call number TL1 S6. Arranged by accession number. If the patron does not know the number, search by subject, author, etc. using the SAE Global Mobility Database CD-ROM, Call number TL240 G5 in the Sci-Tech reference area on the fourth floor. Or use online index from SAE.
  • CD-ROM 1994 - 2002. Call number TL1 A612 at the Sci-Tech reference area. Use the index loaded on the computer next to the SciTech desk to search for the paper and then access the paper from the appropriate CD.
  • Online 2003 - present by request using the photocopy form at Interlibrary Loan.

SAE standards

  • SAE Ground Vehicle Standards (J Standards): Complete holdings. Contained within the SAE Handbook at Call number TL151 S62 until 2005. Beginning in 2006, contained on CD-ROM in the Sci-Tech reference area on the fourth floor, Call number TL151 S623.
  • SAE Aerospace Standards and SAE Aerospace Material Specifications: No holdings. Patron should request through ILL. See the Engineering Standards page for info.

Incomplete holdings of the Special Publication

Classed as a set, with individual cataloging after #704

Call number TL1 S25

Addison Series title: SP (Society of Automotive Engineers)

This series was cancelled in 1998, but all papers are contained within the SAE Technical Papers. If a patron needs a Technical Paper and it is cited as an SP, and the patronb does not have the accession number and we do not have the SP, it is still possible to retrieve the paper from the SAE Technical Papers. For papers before 1995, do a search, (author, title, whatever you have) on the SAE Global Mobility Database CD-ROM, available at the SciTech Reference Desk, get the accession number, and then retrieve the paper via the accession number from microfiche. For papers from 1995 - 2002, do a search on the CD-ROM index, and retrieve the full text from the CD-ROM full text disks. For papers after 2002, do a search at the SAE site, and have the patron order through ILL. Recent SAE papers are NOT indexed in Compendex, so don't try to find them there.

Incomplete holdings of the Proceedings

Classed individually, cataloged individually.

Cancelled in 1998, but all papers are contained within the SAE Technical Papers series. If a patron needs a paper and does not have the accession # and we do not have the Proceedings, use the same procedure as above for Special Publications.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1965-present

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.