Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000190

    ISI Web of Science
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Science Citation Index from Thomson Web of Science

While other databases simply aggregate data, Web of Science information is carefully evaluated and selected. This time-tested approach helps conserve an institution’s resources and researchers’ time by delivering access to the most relevant resources.

Disciplines covered include

  • Agriculture
  • Astronomy
  • Biochemistry
  • Biology
  • Biotechnology
  • Chemistry
  • Computer Science
  • Materials Science
  • Mathematics
  • Medicine
  • Neuroscience
  • Oncology
  • Pediatrics
  • Pharmacology
  • Physics
  • Plant Sciences
  • Psychiatry
  • Surgery
  • Veterinary Science
  • Zoology

Web of Science offers a true cited reference index, which is still the best tool for discovery and the only method of retrieving accurate citation counts. backward, and through journal articles and both journal and book-based proceedings. With cited
reference searching, you can search all disciplines and time spans to uncover information relevant to your search: 

  • Discover who’s citing your research and the impact your work is having
  • Uncover the seminal research of an important theory or concept
  • Measure the influence of colleagues’ or competitors’ work – or your own
  • Follow the path and direction of today’s hottest ideas

Related Records enhances the power of cited reference searching by searching across disciplines for all the articles that have cited references in common.

Create a colorful, easy to navigate, visual representation of citing-cited relationships to a given document using Citation Maps.

Use the Analyze Tool to quickly group the results, analyze the published papers, and identify research trends. Find hidden trends and patterns, gain insight into emerging fields of research, identify leading researchers, institutions, and journals, and trace the history of a particular field of study. You can analyze results by author, publication year, journal subject category, institution, language or source title, and view a numerical, percentage and graphical representation
of the analysis.

Additional links

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1975-present (older data available in print)

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.