Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    Science.gov
This resource is freely accessible

Science.Gov search engine

Science.gov is a gateway to government science information and research results. Currently in its fifth generation, Science.gov provides a search of over 45 scientific databases and 200 million pages of science information with just one query, and is a gateway to over 2100 scientific websites.

Science.gov 5.0 provides the ultimate science search through a variety of features and abilities, including:

  • Accessing over 45 databases and 200 million pages of science information via one query
  • Clustering of results by subtopics, authors, or dates to help you target your search
  • Wikipedia results related to your search terms
  • Eureka News results related to your search terms
  • Mark & send option for emailing results to friends and colleagues
  • Download capabilities in RIS
  • Enhanced information related to your real-time search
  • Aggregated Science News Feed, also available on Twitter
  • Updated Alerts service
  • Image Search

Science.gov 5.0 was launched in September 2008 and boasts several new and innovative features. Clustering, the grouping of results into meaningful topics, helps guide patrons to desired information. Science.gov results have also been enhanced by the addition of Wikipedia topics and EurekAlert items related to the search. Additionally, selected results can be emailed to colleagues and friends, and the overall look and feel has been updated.

More recently, enhanced features added include an aggregated Science News feed, also available on Twitter, a Science.gov widget for users' own web pages and an image search. Federal Regulations and Legislative databases have also been added.

Additional links

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.