Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    Scirus
This resource is freely accessible

Scirus

Scirus is a comprehensive science-specific search engine. Scirus searches over 410 million science-specific Web pages, enabling you to quickly:

  • Pinpoint scientific, scholarly, technical and medical data on the Web.
  • Find the latest reports, peer-reviewed articles, patents, pre prints and journals that other search engines miss.
  • Offer unique functionalities designed for scientists and researchers.

Scirus indexes the following sources

  • 477,000 articles from American Physical Society
  • 661,000 e-prints from ArXiv.org
  • 74,100 full-text articles from BioMed Central
  • 27,200 documents from Caltech Coda
  • 3,400 e-prints from Cogprints
  • 98,700 full-text articles from Crystallography Journals Online
  • 39,000 documents from CURATOR
  • 4.3 million documents from Digital Archives
  • 21,400 documents from DiVa
  • 110,000 full-text articles from Project Euclid
  • 34,800 full-text articles from Hindawi Publishing Corporation
  • 6,500 documents from HKUST Institutional Repository
  • 89,000 documents from The University of Hong Kong
  • 30,400 full-text documents available from IISc
  • 19,000 full-text documents available from Humboldt Universität
  • 342,000 full-text articles from IOP Publishing
  • 24.4 million patent data from LexisNexis
  • 23,500 full-text articles from Maney Publishing
  • 364,000 full-text documents from MD Consult
  • 662,000 full-text documents from Nature Publishing Group
  • 19.6 million Medline citations via PubMed
  • 78,500 documents from MIT OpenCourseWare
  • 25,400 technical reports from NASA
  • 1.6 million full-text theses and dissertations via NDLTD
  • 21,000 full-text documents from OncologySTAT
  • 10,400 documents from Organic Eprints
  • 1,990 documents from PsyDok
  • 1.9 million articles from PubMed Central
  • 1 million documents from RePEc
  • 66,500 full-text articles from Royal Society Publishing
  • 692,000 full-text articles from SAGE Publications
  • 10.8 million full-text articles from ScienceDirect
  • 524,000 full-text journal articles from Scitation
  • 9,100 articles from SIAM
  • 30,000 documents from University of Toronto T-Space
  • 159,000 full-text documents from WaY
  • 1.6 million journal articles from Wiley-Blackwell

Date

September 13, 2010


Other databases for:

Other databases covering:

Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.