Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1001644

    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Scribner Writers from Gale

Scribner Writers series provides students, teachers, and other researchers access to more than 2,000 original, comprehensive, scholar-signed essays on the lives and works of more than 1,400 important authors from around the world and from all time periods. Each entry averages 15-20 pages in length and includes a concise essay and biographical information that places the author's work in personal and historical context. Articles are written by noted literary scholars, and the American Writers and British Writers series are managed and edited by Jay Parini, a novelist and professor of English and Creative Writing at Middlebury College in Vermont. Additional titles are:

  • African American Writers
  • American Nature Writers
  • American Writers
  • American Writers Retrospective
  • American Writers Classics
  • Modern American Women Writers
  • British Writers
  • British Writers Retrospective
  • British Writers Classics
  • European Writers
  • African Writers
  • Ancient Writers: Greece and Rome
  • Books of the Bible
  • Latin American Writers
  • Latino and Latina Writers
  • Mystery and Suspense Writers
  • Poets: American and British
  • Science Fiction Writers
  • Supernatural Fiction Writers
  • World Poets
  • Writers for Children
  • Writers for Young Adults

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

August 9, 2013


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.