Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000734

    Cambridge Collections Online
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Shakespeare Survey Online from Cambridge

Shakespeare Survey is a yearbook of Shakespeare studies and production. Since 1948 Survey has published the best international scholarship in English and many of its essays have become classics of Shakespeare criticism.

Each volume is devoted to a theme, or play, or group of plays; each also contains a section of reviews of that year's textual and critical studies, and of the year's major British performances. The virtues of accessible scholarship and a keen interest in performance, from Shakespeare's time to our own, have characterised the journal from the start.

The books are illustrated with a variety of Shakespearean images and production photographs.

Shakespeare Survey Online makes all issues of the Survey, including over 90% of the original images, available online for the first time. The latest volume, Shakespeare's English Histories and their Afterlives (Volume 63), has been added to the collection as part of the latest update to Cambridge Collections Online.

Various routes into the content, plus tips and advice on searching, are described on the Modes of Use page.

Titles included are

  • Aspects of Shakespearian Comedy
  • Characterization in Shakespeare
  • Close Encounters with Shakespeare's Text
  • Current Approaches to Shakespeare through Language, Text and Theatre
  • Editing Shakespeare
  • Halmet and its Afterlife
  • Hamlet
  • Henry IV to Hamlet
  • Interpretation
  • King Lear
  • King Lear
  • King Lear and its Afterlife
  • Macbeth
  • Macbeth and its Afterlife
  • Othello
  • Playing Places for Shakespeare
  • Romeo and Juliet and its Afterlife
  • Shakepearian Stages and Staging
  • Shakespeare and Comedy
  • Shakespeare and Cultural Exchange
  • Shakespeare and his Contemporaries
  • Shakespeare and his Stage
  • Shakespeare and History
  • Shakespeare and Language
  • Shakespeare and Narrative
  • Shakespeare and Politics
  • Shakespeare and Religions
  • Shakespeare and Sexuality
  • Shakespeare and the Classical World
  • Shakespeare and the Elizabethans
  • Shakespeare and the Globe
  • Shakespeare and the Ideas of his Time
  • Shakespeare in his Own Age
  • Shakespeare in the Eighteenth Century
  • Shakespeare in the Modern World
  • Shakespeare in the Nineteenth Century
  • Shakespeare in the Twentieth Century
  • Shakespeare on Film and Television
  • Shakespeare, Sound and Screen
  • Shakespeare: Theatre Poet
  • Shakespeare's Earlier Comedies
  • Shakespeare's Early Tragedies
  • Shakespeare's Jacobean Tragedies
  • Shakespeare's Language
  • Shakespeare's Last Plays
  • Shakespeare's Problem Plays
  • Shakespeare's English Histories and their Afterlives
  • Shakespeare-Then Till Now
  • Shakespearian and Other Tragedy
  • Shakespearian Production
  • Style and Language
  • Textual Critism
  • The Comedies
  • The Elizabethan Theatre
  • The Histories
  • The Last Plays
  • The Man and the Writer
  • The Middle Comedies
  • The Poems and Music
  • The Roman Plays
  • The Tempest and After
  • Theatres for Shakespeare
  • Writing about Shakespeare

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1948-present

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.