Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000002

    Knovel
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Smithsonian Physical Tables (9th Revised Edition) from Knovel

Originally published by Smithsonian Institution Press in 1954, this classic reference source comprises 901 tables of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense. In 2003, Knovel undertook the conversion of this publication into full-text searchable electronic format that makes data easily accessible.

Topics covered include

  • Abundance of Elements
  • Acoustics
  • Aeronautics
  • Astronomy and Astrophysics
  • Atmospheric Electricity
  • Atomic and Molecular Data
  • Atomic and Molecular Dimensions
  • Changes in Freezing and Boiling Points
  • Characteristics of Plastics
  • Characteristics of Some Building Materials
  • Characteristics of Some Light-source Materials, and Some Light
  • Colloids
  • Common Units of Measurement
  • Compressibility
  • Constants for Temperature Measurement
  • Cooling by Radiation and Convection
  • Cosmic Rays
  • Densities
  • Densities and Humidities of Moist Air
  • Diffusion, Solubility, Surface Tension, and Vapor Pressure
  • Electrical and Mechanical Characteristics of Wire
  • Electrolytics Conduction
  • Electron Emission
  • Emissivities of a Number of Materials
  • Fission
  • General Physical Constants
  • Geomagnetism
  • Gravitation
  • Heat Flow and Thermal Conductivity
  • Heats of Combustion
  • Kinetic Theory of Gases
  • Latent Heat
  • Magnetic Properties of Materials
  • Magneto-optic Effects
  • Media for Determinations of Refractive Indices with the Microscope
  • Molecular Constants of Diatomic Molecules
  • Nuclear Physics
  • Oceanography
  • Optical Glass and Optical Crystals
  • Photography
  • Photometry
  • Physical and Mechanical Properties of Materials
  • Physical Properties of Leather
  • Properties of Fibers
  • Properties of Woods
  • Radio Propagation Data
  • Radioactivity
  • Reflection and Absorption of Radiation
  • Rotation of Plane of Polarized Light
  • Solar Radiation
  • Some Characteristics of Dielectrics
  • Sources
  • Specific Heat
  • Standard Wavelengths and Series Relations in Atomic Spectra
  • Temperature Characteristics of Materials
  • Temperature, Pressure, Volume, and Weight Relations of Gases and
  • The Atmosphere
  • The Barometer
  • The Blackbody and its Radiant Energy
  • The Earth's Rotation: Its Variation
  • The Joule-Thomson Effect in Fluids
  • Thermal Expansion
  • Thermal Properties of Gases
  • Thermal Properties of Saturated Vapors
  • Transmission of Radiation
  • Values of Physical Constants of Different Rubbers
  • Vapors
  • Various Electrical Characteristics of Materials
  • Velocity of Sound
  • Viscosity of Fluids and Solids
  • X-rays

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.