Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000070

    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Sociological Abstracts from ProQuest

Sociological Abstracts indexes abstracts from the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

Many records from key journals in sociology, added to the database since 2002, also include the references cited in the bibliography of the source article. Each individual reference may also have links to an abstract and/or to other papers that cite that reference.

Major areas of coverage include

  • Culture and social structure
  • Demography and human biology
  • Economic development
  • Environmental interactions
  • Evaluation research
  • Family and social welfare
  • Health and medicine and law
  • History and theory of sociology
  • Management and complex organizations
  • Mass phenomena and political interactions
  • Methodology and research technology
  • Policy, planning, forecast and speculation
  • Radical sociology
  • Religion and science
  • Rural and urban sociology
  • Social development
  • Social differentiation
  • Social psychology and group interaction
  • Sociology of the arts, business, education
  • Studies in violence and power
  • Substance abuse and addiction
  • Welfare services
  • Women's studies

Additional links

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1952-present.

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.