Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000844

    Gale Literature Criticism Online
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Something About the Author Online from Gale

Something About the Author Online brings you comprehensive online access to all volumes of Gale's reference set, Something About the Author, the main series, and Something About the Author: Autobiography Series. You'll find thousands of illustrated biographical profiles of children's authors and illustrators, all in an easy-to-use interface that is ideal for teachers, librarians, professors, students, and other researchers of children's and young adult literature. Handy features include the ability to print, email, download, and access content by "Inside this Entry" and "Inside this Volume."

Something About the Author Online is a complete archive that preserves the full integrity of the print reference series, which includes more than 200 volumes, totaling more than 12,000 entries and nearly 17,000 images. You'll find a backfile of searchable page images digitized directly from the print volumes. Search on an author's name and the screen will display the writer's biographical profile in Something About the Author's familiar format: personal data, addresses, career, awards and honors, writings, sidelights (essay on the author's life and works), adaptations, additional sources and more.

Also included are hundreds of specially commissioned autobiography essays from Something About the Author: Autobiography Series. These truly unique essays average about 10,000 words; are illustrated with an abundance of personal photos; and present an entertaining and informative first-person perspective on the lives and careers of prominent authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1971-present

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.