Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    Spenser
This resource is freely accessible

Spenser and the Tradition: English Poetry 1579-1830

The 25,000 records in this largely full-text database follow developments in English poetry from the publication of the Shepheardes Calender in 1579 down to Spenser's successors among the nineteenth-century romantics. The archive presents poets as readers — imitators and emulators, critics and biographers — engaged with literary traditions that were complex, dynamic, and embedded in social networks.

English Poetry 1579-1830 begins with series of poems that imitate Spenser and his followers, series that grew and diversified as English literature migrated across time and space. The archive aims to document how each writer was read by contemporaries and successors, gathering over 10,000 poems linked to commentary and biography for more than a thousand writers from all parts of the English-speaking world.

Because its selection criteria are formal (anyone who wrote in Spenserian stanzas or composed an imitation of Gray's Elegy is included) and its scope comprehensive for printed materials in English, this archive comprises a wide-ranging documentary history of English poetry as related in the words of the readers and writers who shaped and reshaped it over the course of several centuries.

Coverage

1579-1830

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.