Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1001292

    Springer Protocols
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

SpringerProtocols

A protocol is a precise and detailed experiment for the study of a biochemistry, molecular biology, and/or biomedical problem. Protocols are experiment procedure "recipes" or "methods" organized in a standardized format that can be executed in a laboratory environment. They contain step-by-step procedures and include a list of the materials needed to perform the experiment (materials can include chemicals, hardware, software, etc.). Protocols also contain "notes" or "tips" sections providing users with troubleshooting suggestions to help solve problems that may arise during experiments. Researchers rely on protocols to study gene behavior, discover new approaches to treat diseases, and lower costs of drug development.

SpringerProtocols offers researchers access to nearly thirty years worth of time tested, easily reproducible, step-by-step protocols for immediate use in their lab. Written by renowned experts in the field with an emphasis on both comprehensiveness and ease of use, each protocol is organized in an easily reproducible recipe style, and offering helpful tricks of the trade in an invaluable “notes” section, SpringerProtocols is an invaluable resource for the modern research laboratory. All SpringerProtocols are written by experts in the field identified and reviewed by distinguished editors in their specific subject areas. Prior to publication each protocol is reviewed for clarity, accuracy, and consistency by the subject editor, a member of our prestigious editorial board, and Springer's in-house editorial staff.

Subjects covered include

  • Biochemistry
  • Bioinformatics
  • Biotechnology
  • Cancer Research
  • Cell Biology
  • Genetics/Genomics
  • Imaging/Radiology
  • Immunology
  • Infectious Diseases. Microbiology
  • Molecular Medicine
  • Neuroscience
  • Pharmacology/Toxicology
  • Plant Sciences
  • Protein Science

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1980s-present

Date

July 18, 2012


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.