Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

Structure Database from NLM

Three dimensional structures provide a wealth of information on the biological function, on mechanisms linked to the function, and on the evolutionary history of and relationships between macromolecules. Most 3D-structure data are obtained from X-ray crystallography and NMR-spectroscopy.

The Molecular Modeling DataBase (MMDB), also known as "Entrez Structure," is a database of experimentally determined structures obtained from the RCSB Protein Data Bank (PDB). MMDB is developed by the Structure Group of the NCBI Computational Biology Branch. The data processing procedure at NCBI results in the addition of a number of useful features that facilitate computation on the data and link them to many other data types in the Entrez system. The help document and how to pages provides examples of how the database can be used.

The structure database is considerably smaller than Entrez's Protein or Nucleotide databases, but a large fraction of all known protein sequences have homologs in this set, and one may often learn more about a protein by examining 3-D structures of its homologs. These are accessible as "Related Structures" in the "Links" menu of Entrez Protein sequence records (illustrated example). It is then possible to align the query protein to the structure-based sequence, as shown in the illustration on this page.

Additional resources can be used along with MMDB to interactively view the structures, find similar 3D structures, learn about the types of interactions and bound chemicals that have been found to exist among the similar 3D structures, and more.

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.