Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

Taxonomy Database from NLM

The Taxonomy Database is a curated classification and nomenclature for all of the organisms in the public sequence databases. This currently represents about 10% of the described species of life on the planet.

The Entrez Taxonomy database displays the species names (and higher-level classification) of all of the organisms that are represented in the Entrez sequence databases (or any of the other Entrez databases that are indexed by taxonomy).

Species that have not yet appeared in public entries in another Entrez database will not appear in Entrez Taxonomy.

The Entrez Taxonomy database is curated by a small group of taxonomists at the NCBI, based on the current consensus classification in the systematic literature. We try to maintain a phylogenetic classification (containing only monophyletic groups, whenever possible) but it is not automatically generated from the sequence data itself. Although there are a growing number of species with complete genomes in GenBank, the vast majority of species in Entrez Taxonomy are represented by a small snippet of sequence data, not sufficient to construct a robust phylogeny.

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.