Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    ThomasNet
This resource is freely accessible

ThomasNet Product Catalog

ThomasNet is an industrial search engine that provides one source for finding the exact product, service, or supplier –quickly and efficiently. ThomasNet provides direct access to the detailed information needed to make a purchasing or specifying decision, including line-item product details, CAD drawings, and more.

ThomasNet has a dedicated team of Editors that review company and product information and assign Directory Categories based on the type of products and services a company provides. There are more than 65,000 Directory Categories included in ThomasNet to help you find exactly what you’re looking for as quickly as possible. Directory Categories range from very broad (pumps) to very specific (air operated double diaphragm pumps).

The Directory Results combine the industrial expertise of ThomasNet and search technology to make it easy to quickly find what you're looking for. Using your search term, Directory Results deliver the most relevant Directory Category. For example, search for Five Way Ball Valves and the Directory Results will deliver results within the Ball Valve Category. Then use the suite of Modify Tools to find precisely what you're looking for.

Directory results provide the ability to modify search results based on:

  • Keyword
  • Zip Code
  • State
  • Company Type - Manufacturer, Distributor, Service Company, Custom Manufacturer, Manufacturer's Representative
  • ISO Certifications
  • Minority Owned
  • Information Available - Product Catalog, CAD Drawings

Every company on ThomasNet has a Company Profile which is available as a link from search results. Company Profiles may include the following information*:

  • Relevant information about the company and the products and services they provide that relate to the search term you entered in ThomasNet.
  • Links to relevant pages on the company website that relate to the search term you entered in ThomasNet.
  • Links to relevant Product Catalogs and CAD drawings.
  • Contact information for the company including address and phone number.
  • A link to the company Website.
  • Description of the company and the company activities including number of employees and year founded.
  • Contact link to send an email to the Company.

A Product Catalog is product specific information provided by a company. Product specific information can include:

  • Product Name
  • Part/Product #
  • Product Specifications such as material, dimensions, capabilities, etc.
  • Pricing
  • Drawings/Images

Product Catalogs have been integrated into ThomasNet so search results include links directly to the relevant page within the Product Catalog. In addition, within the Directory you can modify your search results to view companies with relevant Product Catalogs.

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.