Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000876

    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Tobacco in History and Culture: An Encyclopedia from Gale Virtual Reference Library

Tobacco in History and Culture: An Encyclopedia is a single authoritative encyclopedia on every aspect of tobacco, one of the world's most pervasive substances. We expect this encyclopedia to be used by a wide variety of groups. While it is a useful resource for high school and college curricula in courses on history, business, health, and political science, it is also a scholarly resource for those doing research related to tobacco and its history.

Entries cover the scientific aspects of tobacco, its botany, chemistry, and pharmacology. Here the reader will find out what the tobacco plant is, how it grows, and the chemicals it makes. Special attention is given to nicotine, the plant's psychoactive ingredient. Some chemicals are present in the plant but others are produced when tobacco is burned. These, too, are discussed in the encyclopedia, with the most up-to-date information available.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.