Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000893

    ScienceDirect
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Treatise on Geophysics from ScienceDirect

The Treatise on Geophysics is the only comprehensive, state-of-the-art, and integrated summary of the present state of geophysics. Offering an array of articles from some of the top scientists around the world, this 11-volume work deals with all major parts of Solid-Earth Geophysics, including a volume on the terrestrial planets and moons in our solar system. This major reference work will aid researchers, advanced undergrad and graduate students, as well as professionals in cutting-edge research that can be conducted easily, with all the relevant information that they need right at their fingertips.

Volume 1 - Seismology and Structure of the Earth

Volume 1 provides an overview of the status of geophysics and is divided into three parts. Part I is devoted to various aspects of seismic wave propagation theory, data analysis and inversion methods, and documents the increasingly important role of numerical computational methods. Part II addresses the internal structure from the crust to the core, considering elastic, anelastic and anisotropic views of the Earth at global and regional scales. And, Part III reviews mineral physics and geodynamics to further progress in the understanding of Earth's internal dynamics and of the forces that drive plate tectonics by combining constraints from different disciplines.

Volume 2 - Mineral Physics

Mineral Physics provides the fundamental information needed to interpret deep Earth geophysical data in terms of Earth structure, composition, temperature and dynamics. Containing 23 chapters and divided into three parts, this volume contains summaries of what is known of the mineralogy and chemistry of the deep crust, the upper mantle, the transition zone, the lower mantle and the core of the Earth. It also addresses the underlying theory, techniques, and methods used in mineral physics, as well as, in the final sections of the volume, reviews the major physical properties of deep Earth minerals.

Volume 3 - Geodesy

Geodesy explores the theory, instrumentation and results from modern geodetic systems. The beginning sections of the volume cover the theory of the Earth's gravity field, the instrumentation for measuring the field, and its temporal variations. The measurements and results obtained from variations in the rotation of the Earth are covered in the sections on short and long period rotation changes. Space based geodetic methods, including the global positioning system (GPS) and Interferometric synthetic aperture radar (SAR), are also examined in detail. 

Volume 4 - Earthquake Seismology

Volume 4 presents the most recent findings on the physics of earthquakes. It includes chapters on seismicity studies from pre-historic periods to the most modern studies on a global scale, deep earthquakes, nucleation, stress transfer, triggering, hydrological processes, and recently discovered slow slips at plate boundaries. It also covers closely related fields including tsunami, volcanic seismology and physics, interaction between solid earth, atmosphere and ionosphere. Discussions on strong-motion seismology and its social implications are also reviewed.

Volume 5 - Geomagnetism

Geomagnetism presents various aspects of the magnetic field of Earth. After an overview, topics covered include magnetospheric interactions, secular variation, magnetic induction, archeomagnetism, reversals, excursions, oceanic and continental magnetic anomalies, and long-term behaviors of the magnetic field. The mathematical techniques for treating these phenomena are discussed in detail. The electric and magnetic properties of Earth materials, as well as basic experimental and observational techniques are also described.

Volume 6 - Crustal and Lithosphere Dynamics

Volume 6 brings together the results of studies that are fundamental to our understanding of crust and lithosphere dynamics. It begins with a discussion of plate kinematics and mechanics. Then it considers the evidence from surface heat flow, stress measurements, and magmatism for the thermal and mechanical structure of the lithosphere. Finally, consideration is given to the structural styles of faulting, the deformation of the crust and lithosphere in extensional (e.g. rifting) and compressional (e.g. mountain building) regions, and the implications of plate mechanics for sedimentary basin evolution.

Volume 7 - Mantle Dynamic

Mantle Dynamics provides an in-depth overview of the field of mantle dynamics in its present state. It surveys the physics and fluid dynamics of mantle convection, with theoretical, laboratory and computational methods. The volume also reviews the present understanding of convection in Earth's mantle, including energy sources and thermal evolution, upper-mantle flow, the fate of subducting slabs, hotspots and mantle plumes, and convective mixing and mantle geochemistry.

Volume 8 - Core Dynamics

This volume is a connected account of the dynamics at the heart of our planet. The range of subjects reflects the breadth and the fast pace of research in core dynamics. Topics include structure and composition of the outer and inner core, energetics of the core, convection, rotation, flow and turbulence in the outer core, solidification of the inner core, dynamo theory and numerical dynamo models, magnetic polarity reversals, laboratory experiments on the core and the geodynamo and the interactions between the core and the other parts of the Earth.

Volume 9 - Evolution of the Earth

Volume Nine focuses on the formation of Earth, core and continents, outgassing and volcanism, development of plate tectonics, origin and persistence of Earth's magnetic field, growth of the inner core, changes in mantle convection through time, and impact of biology. The emphasis is on an interdisciplinary viewpoint that emphasizes the interplay of geophysics with other aspects of earth science and evolution. An effort is made to identify the areas where current knowledge is incomplete and alternative histories are possible.

Volume 10 - Planets and Moons

Planets and Moons covers topics relating to the physics of the major planetary bodies in the solar system, starting with an introductory description of the solar system and collection of pertinent data, continuing with a discussion of the early history of the planets, and finishing with articles about planet dynamics, thermal evolution of planets and satellites, the thermal evolution of planets and satellites, descriptions of their magnetic fields, and the processes that generate these. In addition to providing a review on the solid planets and the satellites, this volume addresses the interactions of the solid surfaces with the atmospheres as well as the roles of water and ice to shape the surfaces.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.