Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    TRIS Transportation Research Information Service
This resource is freely accessible

TRID International Transport Research Documentation from TRB

In 2011, TRB and ITRD released TRID, the TRIS and ITRD Database.  TRID is the world's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic resource on transportation research information.  It is produced and maintained by the Transportation Research Board of the US National Academies with sponsorship by State Departments of Transportation, the various administrations at the U.S. Department of Transportation, and other sponsors of TRB's core technical activities.  ITRD is produced by ITRD member organizations under the under the sponsorship of Joint Transport Research Centre (collectively JTRC) of the International Transport Forum and Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) and ITRD.

Records in TRID are indexed with a standardized vocabulary from the Transportation Research Thesaurus (TRT) or the ITRD Thesaurus, depending on the source organization.

The TRID Database contains more than 900,000 records of references to books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and journal articles in the field of transportation research. Almost 500 serial titles are regularly scanned and indexed for TRID. TRID's focus is transportation research. TRID does not contain information on vehicle standards and specifications, patent information, market research, or military transport.

In addition to the material that is indexed and abstracted at the Transportation Research Board and from ITRD, TRID receives records from several sources:

TLIB

TLIB Records are bibliographic records received from major transportation libraries. These citations generally do not have abstracts but they cover journals and publications that would not otherwise be covered in TRID.  The Harmer E. Davis Library at the Institute of Transportation Studies at the University of California, Berkeley provides monthly updates of journal articles and technical reports. The Northwestern University Transportation Library provides monthly contributions of selections from its TRANWeb database (a database of journal articles and papers on transportation and law enforcement).

EIS

Almost 20,000 Environmental Impact Statements from the EIS Database produced by the Northwestern University Transportation Library have been added to the TRIS Database to date.  TRID now contains records for the largest collection of Environmental Impact Statements in the world.

Theses

Since 2007, the Northwestern University Transportation Library has contributed transportation-related theses to the TRID database. To date approximate 3,000 records have been contributed. The Northwestern University Transportation Library adds new thesis records to TRID annually.

Additional links

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.