Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content



    Turfgrass Information Center
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Turfgrass Information Center

The Turfgrass Information File (TGIF), produced by the Turfgrass Information Center (TIC) at the Michigan State University Libraries, provides or points to resources of potential relevance to turfgrass science and management. In an academic environment, TGIF coverage and content can be very useful in support of programs in Landscape Architecture and Design, Horticulture, Parks and Recreation Facility Operations, Grounds and Landscape Management, Sports Management, Geography, Urban Planning, Environmental Sustainability, Natural Resource Public Policy, Land Use, Popular Culture and of course TGIF is the best there is in Turfgrass Science.

Subject coverage

The Turfgrass Information Center selects materials according to a broad definition of turfgrass. Turfgrass is defined as grass or grass-like ground covers used in golf courses, parks, sports fields, lawns, sod farms, roadsides, institutional grounds, and for other utility, recreational or aesthetic purposes. Subjects covered by TGIF include:

  • Description and biology of turfgrass species and cultivars
  • Description and biology of turfgrass pests, weeds, and other related organisms
  • Turf culture methods and techniques
  • Turf care equipment and equipment maintenance
  • Golf and sports facility maintenance
  • Turfgrass breeding and improvement
  • Turfgrass seed production
  • Sod production, installation and maintenance
  • Sod and turfgrass seed industry trends
  • Regulatory and political aspects of turf culture
  • Turfgrass water use
  • Golf and sports facility industry trends
  • Golf course architecture and design
  • Lawn and landscape management industry trends
  • Turf user/turf manager relations
  • Turf-related business management
  • Profiles of turf-related businesses and facilities
  • Biography of turfgrass researchers and professionals
  • The lawn in popular culture
  • Environmental aspects of turf culture
  • Social and historical aspects of turf culture
  • Turfgrass as a land use form 

Materials indexed by the Turfgrass Information File include articles from peer reviewed publications; technical reports and conference proceedings; trade and professional publications; local professional newsletters; and popular magazines as well as monographs; theses and dissertations; fact sheets and brochures; software; and web documents including podcasts, interactive resources, online slide presentations, videos, audio files, and surveys. TGIF indexes materials from government, college/university, professional organization, and private publishers. Coverage emphasizes Englishlanguage materials but does include coverage of non-English languages.

Additional resources


  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  




March 10, 2015


restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.


NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.