A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #
ICPSR provides both census microdata and aggregate data acquired from the Census Bureau. Microdata is the individual responses to census questions while aggregate data contains tabulations of the individual responses at various levels, such as states, counties, and census tracts. 1940s-present.
The United States Government Manual provides information in ASCII text and PDF on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees. The Manual begins with reprints of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution. 1995/96-present.
ULI Development Case Studies provides full-text case studies describing the development process of building projects (in HTML). Studies include general descriptions, contact information for the development team, the building site's background and history, special features of the project, what did and did not work on the project, key facts and figures, and photos of the site or floor plans. 1981-present. Limited to simultaneous user.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on all areas of industrial chemistry. Use the Go here for SFX links to generate a Get VText window.
UlrichsWeb provides information about periodicals: whether a journal is peer reviewed, scholarly, trade, or popular; in which databases it is indexed; publication dates and title changes; and links to Journal Citation Reports for impact factors. Use the Get VText links to see local date coverage.
UNBISnet is a catalog of United Nations documents, plus commercial publications and other non-UN sources held at the Dag Hammarskjöld Library. Some documents are available in full text. 1979-present.
UNdata indexes data and statistics compiled by United Nations divisions, including official statistics produced by countries and compiled by United Nations data system, as well as estimates and projections. The domains covered are agriculture, crime, education, energy, industry, labour, national accounts, population and tourism. You can also find indicators such as Millennium Development Goals. Data can be downloaded in statistical software formats.
UIS provides statistics tables related to UNESCO's interests: education, literacy, science and technology, culture, and communication. View pre-defined tables or build your own by selecting countries, indicators, and years. Tables can be downloaded in spreadsheet formats or exported to PDFs.
UniGene provides an organized view of the transcriptome. Each UniGene entry is a set of transcript sequences that appear to come from the same transcription locus (gene or expressed pseudogene), together with information on protein similarities, gene expression, cDNA clone reagents, and genomic location.
The ULAN is a structured vocabulary currently containing around 293,000 names and other information about artists. Names in ULAN may include given names, pseudonyms, variant spellings, names in multiple languages, and names that have changed over time (e.g., married names). Among these names, one is flagged as the preferred name.
UniSTS is a comprehensive database of sequence tagged sites (STSs) derived from STS-based maps and other experiments. STSs are defined by PCR primer pairs and are associated with additional information such as genomic position, genes, and sequences.
UN Comtrade provides standardised official annual trade statistics reported by countries and reflects international merchandise flows detailed by commodity and partner country with coverage reaching up to 99 percent of world merchandise trade. 1963-present
USAHA provides full-text proceedings in PDF (one per volume). 2002-present.
USA Trade Online provides current and cumulative U.S. export and import data for commodities. Data can be exported in spreadsheet and XML formats. Annual data: 1992-present; monthly data: 2002-present; port-level data: 2003-present.
USGS National Geologic Map Database provides maps and related data about: geology, hazards, earth resources, geophysics, geochemistry, geochronology, paleontology, and marine geology.
The USPTO Patent Full-Text and Image Database indexes information about patents, plus provides full text of patents since 1976 and full-page images of all patents in TIFF format. 1790-present.
NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.