Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000887

    Urban Land Institute
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource is freely accessible

ULI Development Case Studies

Since 1971, the Urban Land Institute has been publishing case studies describing the development process of projects that are both innovative in their markets and financially successful. Originally titled Project Reference Files, the case studies were published in print form until 1997, when they were digitized and made available in an electronic database, known as ULI Development Case Studies.

There are three types of reports included in this database:

ULI Development Case Studies
The short, summary versions of each case study may be viewed free. To view the complete case study with photos, site plans, project data, and a report on the development process, login with the password provided by Ask a Librarian.
Award Winning Projects
These are reports on ULI Award for Excellence winners and in many cases may be viewed free.
Cool Projects
These include a brief description and a link to the project’s web site and may be viewed free.

Full case studies include

  • General Description:
    Outlines the project’s objectives and the development strategies used to achieve them.
  • Development Team:
    Contact information for the principal developer and architect.
  • Site and History:
    Describes the site’s characteristics, location, strategic position, and pertinent background.
  • Special Features:
    Each report focuses on distinctive features that set the project apart from the ordinary—market niches, design approaches, innovative concepts, techniques used to gain approval, and financing methods.
  • Experience Gained:
    Provides insight into what worked and what didn’t.
  • Project Data:
    Provides key facts and figures such as costs, sales and rents, land area and size, and the development schedule.
  • Illustrations:
    Several photos and either site or floor plans are available for each project.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1981-present

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.