Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000225

    Virginia Heritage
This resource is freely accessible Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon

Virginia Heritage Database

Virginia Heritage is a consolidated database of finding aids to manuscript and archival collections, provides information about historical materials that document Virginia history and culture from 1607 to the present.

Virginia Heritage includes guides to collections held by

  • Alexandria Library
  • College of William and Mary
  • Colonial Williamsburg Foundation
  • George Mason University
  • Hollins University
  • James Madison University
  • Library of Virginia
  • Old Dominion University
  • Radford University
  • Randolph-Macon College
  • Roanoke College
  • Roanoke Public Library
  • Thomas Balch Library
  • University of Richmond
  • University of Virginia
  • Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Virginia Historical Society
  • Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
  • Virginia Military Institute
  • Virginia State University
  • Virginia Union University
  • Washington and Lee University
  • Wytheville Community College

Rights

The contents of the Virginia Heritage database are made publicly available by the participating institutions for use in research, teaching, and private study. For these purposes, you may reproduce (print or download) materials from this website without prior permission, on the condition that you provide proper attribution of the source in all copies. The guides and associated images are not, however, in the public domain. Copyright is held by the participating institutions.

By their use of these texts and images, users agree to follow these conditions of use:

  • These texts and any associated images may not be used for any commercial purpose without prior written permission from the originating institution.
  • These texts and any associated images may not be re-published in print or electronic form without prior written permission from the originating institution.
  • Users may not download these guides and/or associated images in order to mount them on their own servers for public use, or for use by a set of subscribers. Institutions may link to the guides, subject to our conditions of use.
  • Any permission given to reproduce these guides and/or associated images is non-exclusive and shall in no way restrict the originating institution's further use of the reproduced materials, including its right to allow further reproduction in commercial publications.

Coverage

1607-present

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.