Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    VT Expertise Database
This resource is freely accessible

Virginia Tech Expertise Database (VTED)

Virginia Tech Expertise Database (VTED) is maintained by the Office of the Vice President for Research (OVPR) at Virginia Tech. A service to the Virginia Tech community and to the general public, VTED is designed to give business, industry, government, and media representatives access to Virginia Tech researchers. These researchers may be willing to provide information, collaboration, or services for sponsored research and/or projects.

Use VTED to locate Virginia Tech faculty members willing to:
  • provide services for sponsored research/projects
  • offer collaboration on research/projects
  • respond to media queries

While increasing the public's accessibility to campus expertise and broadening the understanding of the university's research activities, OVPR also expects that the database will improve contacts with potential research sponsors. Researchers may also use the database to find potential colleagues for joint research or internal sources of information. Staff in the Office of University Relations will find the database useful when responding to media queries and requests for public speakers.

When a researcher chooses to participate in VTED their information is automatically included in COS - Community of Science . In fact, creating and updating the expertise records is done through the COS web site. The data is then downloaded to VTED, ensuring that all of the information is consistent and up-to-date.

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.