A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #
Water: Science and Issues provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on the natural resource, life science, physical science and technology, and economic aspects of water. Biographies, photos, and a glossary are also included.
Water Resources Abstracts indexes abstracts and citations from journal articles, conference proceedings, books, technical reports, patents, theses, and dissertations on natural resources related on water: conservation, control, pollution, treatment, and use and management of water resources. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1967-present.
The three Web of Science databases index citations from journal articles and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. You can perform cited reference searches, analyze trends and patterns, and create visual representations of citation relationships. 1975-present.
The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals indexes citations of periodical articles, including the authorship of articles and a bibliography of articles written by each contributor, and using each pseudonym. Citations of evidence are provided to support attributions of authorship, along with brief biographical and vocational details. Each indexed publication is thoroughly described. Some citations link to full text from other C19 databases.
Westlaw is a primary online legal research service containing proprietary database services. Information resources on Westlaw include more than 40,000 databases of case law, state and federal statutes, administrative codes, newspaper and magazine articles, public records, law journals, law reviews, treatises, legal forms and other information resources. Access is via individual password, available on request from the law librarian. Westlaw is contractually restricted to persons accessing data for educational purposes directly related to student coursework or for scholarly research.
Wharton Research Data Service provides business data. It includes stock exchange (market-wide and company specific), balance sheet (company specific), income statement (company specific), bank, and macro economic information. Data on bonds, bills, inflation, stock and currency options (PHLX) is also included. To use WRDS, you must first submit an account request.
Who's Who Among African Americans provides full-text biographical entries for more then 20,000 men and women.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and technical reports in the natural resources and life sciences disciplines. Full-text materials are available in HTML and PDF formats. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1900-present. Limited to simultaneous users.
Wolfram MathWorld provides full-text reference articles (with bibliographic citations), a glossary of mathematical terms, downloadable Mathematica notebooks, and a guide to Mathematica.
The Women's Studies Encyclopedia provides full-text reference articles in HTML about women in all fields of study, primarily in the United States.
Women's Studies International indexes abstracts, citations, and full-text articles from academic journals, newspapers, magazines, newsletters, bulletins, books, conference proceedings, working papers, pamphlets, reports, theses, and dissertations in the arts, humanities, business, social sciences, and education. Full-text material is available in HTML and PDF formats. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1972-present.
Women and Social Movements in the US indexes citations and full text of primary documents and archives; book, film, and website reviews; teaching tools; a directory of organizations; and a chronology of women's history. 1745-present.
World Almanac indexes citations from encyclopedic texts and provides full-text (HTML) articles, biographies, and statistics in a wide variety of subjects. 1998-present.
The World Bank Group Databases provides access to searchable databases on economics, education, and social science data. Many of the databases can be downloaded in database or spreadsheet format.
World Book Advanced Altas provides access to approximately 750 maps that cover the whole globe interactively, link to each other, and directly to articles on continents, countries, states, provinces, cities, and other places shown on the maps.
The World Book Advanced Dictionary provides over 250,000 entries. On pages with the Tools box, users can double-click on any word on the page to be taken to the entry in the dictionary for the selected word.
The World Book Advanced Encyclopedia provides HTML full-text reference articles, ebooks, literary criticism, U.S. Supreme Court cases, U.S. presidential papers, special reports, research guides, timelines, maps, images, and multimedia in all academic disciplines.
WorldCat is a "master" catalog of library materials. This freely accessible version allows you to find citations and some full text of books, music, videos, articles, photos, primary sources, theses and dissertations, newspapers, and maps from around the world. WorldCat can indicate whether an item is available from the Virginia Tech Libraries; otherwise request a copy through interlibrary loan.
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses is a subset of the WorldCat catalog listing dissertation, theses, and some published materials from member libraries, including Virginia Tech. `
World Cat indexes citations of books, journal articles, newspapers, magazines, computer programs, maps, musical scores, videotapes, and websites. This database contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries, including Virginia Tech.
World Development Indicators provides financial data sets from international sources that can be downloaded in database and spreadsheet formats. 1960-present.
World Public Opinion provides full-text opinion articles, survey summaries, and questionnaires in HTML and PDF, plus datasets in statistical database formats. 2001-present.
The World Treaty Index provides citations of treaties signed in the 20th century. The data can be downloaded in spreadsheet formats. 1945-1999.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, books, essays, book reviews, working papers, technical reports, theses, and dissertations in the social sciences related to politics. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1975-present.
WorldWideScience cross-searches over 60 national and international scientific databases and portals. Contents covered include full-text journal articles, theses and dissertations, reports, and multimedia. Results are returned in relevance-ranked order.
NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.