Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000876

    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Water: Science and Issues from Gale Virtual Reference Library

Water: Science and Issues explores the complexities of water in just over 300 essays written by water scientists, professors, educators, and professional communicators. Entries addressing key concepts, current issues, traditional and emerging research, and major legislation are integrated with historical overviews, biographical sketches, and career information.

More than 575 color photographs and illustrations help tell this interdisciplinary story. Selected glossary definitions, sidebars, cross-references, and a short bibliography accompany each entry. Reference aids in the frontmatter, a comprehensive glossary in the backmatter, and a high-quality cumulative index provide additional tools.

Topics covered include

  • Agriculture
  • Aquatic animals
  • Biographies
  • Careers
  • Chemical and physical properties, processes and  applications
  • Climate change
  • Drinking water
  • Earth and beyond
  • Ecology and ecosystems
  • Economics and commerce
  • Federal agencies (U.S.)
  • Geologic properties, processes, and applications
  • Groundwater
  • Human experience
  • Hydrology and hydrogeology
  • Ice (on Earth)
  • Interesting water features
  • Issues: national and international
  • Lakes and streams
  • Legislation, policy, and law
  • Microbes: ecosystems and human impacts
  • Ocean science
  • Planning and management
  • Pollution and environmental quality
  • Resources: living and nonliving
  • Structures and facilities
  • Technology
  • Using water
  • Weather and climate

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.