Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000089

    FirstSearch
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia

World Almanac from FirstSearch

World Almanac offers a fundamental reference source for students, library patrons, library reference staff, and scholars alike. This database includes biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, statistics and indexes more than 3200 records.

Major subject areas covered are:

  • American life
  • Arts and entertainment
  • Computers
  • Economics
  • Environment
  • Historical anniversaries
  • National defense
  • Nations of the world
  • People in the news
  • Science and technology
  • Sports
  • Taxes
  • Profiles of U.S. states and territories
  • U.S. cities and states
  • Vital statistics

Sources include

  • Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia
  • The World Almanac and Book of Facts
  • The World Almanac of the U.S.A.
  • The World Almanac of U.S. Politics
  • The World Almanac for Kids

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1998-present.

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.