Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    Worldbank Data
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

World Bank Group Databases

The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank datasets, include databases, pre-formatted tables and reports. Each of the listings includes a description of the data set and a direct link to that set. Where possible, the databases are linked directly to a selection screen to allow users to select the countries, indicators, and years they would like to search. Those search results can be exported in different formats. Users can also choose to download the entire database directly from the catalog.

Linked databases include

World Development Indicators
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
Global Development Finance
Focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing countries. Includes over 200 time series indicators from 1970 to 2009, for most reporting countries.
Africa Development Indicators
The most detailed collection of data on Africa, containing over 1,600 indicators, covering 53 African countries and spanning the period 1961 to 2008. Data include social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, partnership, and environmental indicators. Data are drawn from World Development Indicators, and other sources.
Landmine Contamination, Casualties and Clearance Database
The Landmine Contamination, Casualties and Clearance provides country level data on a broad range of issues related to landmines and cluster munitions, including contamination, casualties and clearance, and their associated cost. The data was compiled from two sources: Landmine and Cluster Munition Monitor and annual surveys by the United Nations Mine Action Team (UNMAT).
World Development Report 2011
As a follow up to the official launch of the 2011 World Development Report on Conflict, Security and Development (WDR 2011), the WDR 2011 database has been launched. The database includes statistics related to civil war, terrorism, and trafficking, as well as socio-economic, demographic and political data. It is a collection of diverse data from multi sources into a single easily navigable depository. The database is a basic research tool for academics and practitioners which brings together diverse indicators relevant to conflict, security and development.
Socio-Economic Database for Latin America and the Caribbean
This web site includes statistics on poverty and other distributional and social variables from 25 Latin American and Caribbean (LAC) countries. All statistics are computed from microdata of the main household surveys carried out in these countries using a homogenous methodology (data permitting). SEDLAC allows users to monitor the trends in poverty and other distributional and social indicators in the region. The database is available in the form of brief reports, charts and electronic Excel tables with information for each country/year.
World Bank Policy Research Working Papers
A collection of policy research working papers, policy research reports, and world development reports in the World Bank's Archives.
World Bank Projects & Operations
World Bank Projects & Operations provides access to basic information on all of the World Bank's lending projects from 1947 to the present. The dataset includes basic information such as the project title, task manager, country, project id, sector, themes, commitment amount, product line, and financing. It also provides links to publicly disclosed online documents.
Contract Award Data
Procurement under World Bank-financed projects results in the award of over 50,000 contracts with a total value of about $20 billion each year. Of these, about 10,000 contracts (particularly large-value contracts) are reviewed by Bank staff prior to contract award. Information on the winning contracts, which were subject to the Bank's review, is publicly available after contract signature. Major contracts financed under investment lending are subject to this prior review. The thresholds for prior review vary from loan to loan, and country to country, as specified in the Financing Agreement.
Doing Business
Doing Business provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 183 economies. Each economy is ranked according to 10 sets of indicators. These are combined into an overall "ease of doing business" ranking.
East Asia and Pacific Economic Update
The East Asia and Pacific Economic Update is the comprehensive, twice-yearly review of the region’s economies prepared by the East Asia and Pacific region of the World Bank.
Education Statistics
Over 1,000 internationally comparable indicators for access, progression, completion, learning outcomes, literacy, teachers, expenditure, and background indicators. The indicators cover the educational cycle from pre-primary to tertiary education.
Gender Statistics
The Gender Statistics database provides indicators on key gender topics. Themes included are demographics, education, health, labor force, and political participation.
Global Economic Monitor
Providing daily updates of global economic developments, with coverage of high income- as well as developing countries. Daily data updates are provided for exchange rates, equity markets, interest rates, stripped bond spreads, and emerging market bond indices. Monthly data coverage (updated daily and populated upon availability) is provided for consumer prices, high-tech market indicators, industrial production and merchandise trade.
Health Nutrition and Population Statistics
Provides key health, nutrition and population statistics gathered from a variety of international sources. Themes include population dynamics, nutrition, reproductive health, health financing, medical resources and usage, immunization, infectious diseases, HIV/AIDS, DALY, population projections and lending.
MIGA Project Portfolio
The Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency (MIGA) was created in 1988 as a member of the World Bank Group to promote foreign direct investment into emerging economies to support economic growth, reduce poverty, and improve people’s lives. MIGA fulfills this mandate by offering political risk insurance (guarantees) to investors and lenders, covering risks including expropriation, breach of contract, currency transfer restriction, war and civil disturbance, and non-honoring of sovereign financial obligations.
Millennium Development Goals
Relevant indicators drawn from the World Development Indicators, reorganized according to the goals and targets of the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs).
The Changing Wealth of Nations
The Wealth of Nations dataset provides country level data on comprehensive wealth, adjusted net saving and non-renewable resource rents indicators. It presents a set of “wealth accounts” for over 150 countries for 1995, 2000, and 2005 which allows a longer-term assessment of global, regional and country performance in building wealth.
Africa's Infrastructure
The Africa Infrastructure Country Diagnostic (AICD) has data collection and analysis on the status of the main network infrastructures. The AICD database provides cross-country data on network infrastructure for nine major sectors: air transport, information and communication technologies, irrigation, ports, power, railways, roads, water and sanitation.
AidFlows
A new tool that allows users to visualize sources and uses of development aid, by country. Aidflows offers new transparency about the flow of development funds – from countries providing the resources to countries receiving these funds. Beyond global aid data, there is information about contributions from donors to World Bank and/or World Bank administered trust funds. This includes many of emerging donors that are an increasingly important source of global aid funding.
Country Policy and Institutional Assessment
Rating of countries against a set of 16 criteria grouped in four clusters: economic management, structural policies, policies for social inclusion and equity, and public sector management and institutions.
Migration and Remittances Factbook 2011
Migration and Remittances Factbook 2011 provides a snapshot of migration and remittances for all countries, regions and income groups of the world, compiled from available data from various sources.
Actionable Governance Indicators
Actionable governance indicators focus on specific aspects of governance, and are designed to provide guidance on the design of reforms and the monitoring of impacts.
Arab World Education Performance Indicators
The Arab World Education Performance Indicators compiles data on education outcomes in 22 Arab States member countries in an aggregated and standardized manner. It allows users to compare the performance of each country along the following 6 important dimensions of education performance: access, equity, quality, efficiency, relevance, and Knowledge Economy readiness.
Enterprise Surveys
Enterprise Surveys provide firm-level data from over 120,000 establishments in 125 countries. Data are used to create over 100 indicators that benchmark the quality of the business environment across the globe.
IDA Results Measurement System
The IDA Results Measurement System dataset measures progress on aggregate outcomes for IDA countries for selected indicators.
Bulletin Board on Statistical Capacity
The Bulletin Board on Statistical Capacity (BBSC) provides information on various aspects of national statistical systems of developing countries, including a country-level statistical capacity indicator.
Bulletin Board on Statistical Capacity
The Bulletin Board on Statistical Capacity (BBSC) provides information on various aspects of national statistical systems of developing countries, including a country-level statistical capacity indicator.
Business Environment and Enterprise Performance Survey
The Business Environment and Enterprise Performance Survey provides firm-level data on a broad range of issues about the business environment and performance of firms, including business-government relations, firm financing, labor, infrastructure, informal payments and corruption, and other topics such as training and innovation.
GEM Commodities
The World Bank collection of monthly commodities prices and indices from 1960 to present, updated on the third working day of each month, as presented in the Commodity Price Data (a.k.a. Pink Sheet), published continuously for more than half a century.
Global Bilateral Migration Database
Global matrices of bilateral migrant stocks spanning the period 1960-2000, disaggregated by gender and based primarily on the foreign-born concept are presented. Over one thousand census and population register records are combined to construct decennial matrices corresponding to the last five completed census rounds. For the first time, a comprehensive picture of bilateral global migration over the last half of the twentieth century emerges. The data reveal that the global migrant stock increased from 92 to 165 million between 1960 and 2000.
International Comparison Program
The International Comparison Program database provides a collection of comparative price data and detailed expenditure values of countries’ gross domestic product (GDP), and estimates of purchasing power parities (PPPs) for the world’s economies.
Joint External Data Hub
External debt data and selected foreign assets from international creditor/market sources.
Knowledge Economy Index
109 structural and qualitative variables for 146 countries to measure their performance on four Knowledge Economy pillars: Economic Incentive and Institutional Regime, Education, Innovation, and Information and Communications Technologies.
Logistics Performance Index
An interactive benchmarking tool to help countries identify the challenges and opportunities they face in their performance on trade logistics and what they can do to improve their performance.
Manufactures Unit Value Index
A proxy for the price of developing country imports of manufactures in U.S. dollar terms, used to assess cost escalation for imported goods.
Private Participation in Infrastructure
The primary source of information on private participation in infrastructure in low- and middle-income countries. It contains more than 25 years of data on private participation in infrastructure in 137 countries. The data set includes information on more than 4,300 infrastructure projects.
Privatization Database
Privatization database provides data on privatization transactions of at least US$1 million in developing countries from 2000 to 2008.
Quarterly External Debt Statistics
Quarterly External Debt Statistics (QEDS) database provides detailed external debt data that are published individually by countries that subscribe to the IMF’s Special Data Dissemination Standard (SDDS) as well as GDDS participating countries that are in a position to produce the external debt data prescribed by the SDDS.
Quarterly External Debt Statistics
Quarterly External Debt Statistics (QEDS) provides external debt data for an extension of countries that participate in the IMF's General Data Dissemination System (GDDS) in February 2008.
Quarterly Public Sector Debt
Quarterly Public Sector Debt (QPSD) database, jointly developed by the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund, brings together detailed public sector debt data of selected developing /emerging market countries (Czech Republic is an advanced economy; the rest of the advanced economies will be invited to participate in this initiative in 2011). The QPSD database includes country and cross-country tables, and enables users to query and extract data, by country, group of countries, and specific public debt components.
Remittance Prices Worldwide
Provides data on the cost of sending and receiving small amounts of money from one country to another.
Temporary Trade Barriers Database including the Global Antidumping Database
The Temporary Trade Barriers Database (TTBD) website hosts newly collected, freely available, and detailed data on more than thirty different national governments’ use of policies such as antidumping (AD), global safeguards (SG), China-specific transitional safeguard (CSG) measures, and countervailing duties (CVD).
World Bank Group Thesaurus
The Thesaurus is a controlled vocabulary developed by World Bank Group to describe its development activities. It includes concepts and terms used to describe World Bank Group’s social and economic development knowledge domains and areas of expertise. It is a tool used to support rich concept level searching, index all kinds of content, using either automated or manual approaches, and recommend related term searches to users.
World Integrated Trade Solution
WITS is a trade software tool giving access to bilateral trade between countries based on various product classifications, product details, years, and trade flows. It also contains tariff and non-tariff measures as well as analysis tool to calculate effects of tariff reductions. In addition, users have access to two visualization tools.
Worldwide Governance Indicators
Aggregate and individual governance indicators for 212 countries and territories over the period 1996–2008, for six dimensions of governance.

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.