Here's our most recently added resources:
This database is on trial. Statistical Ready Reference indexes statistical data from the Data-Planet repository of time-series data across all disciplines. Searches are against real-time data. Search results provide a cleanly formatted visual representation of the data, links to the underlying data, and contextual descriptions of the data source, indicator and dataset from which the indicator derives. Datasets can be downloaded in spreadsheet, SAS, SPSS, and XML formats. Please provide feedback on this trial to Bruce Pencek or your college librarian.
This database is on trial. Statistical Datasets indexes structured datasets from Data-Planet's massive repository. Data can be exported in spreadsheet, PDF, SAS, and XML formats. Please provide feedback on this trial to Bruce Pencek or your college librarian.
ArchiveGrid indexes descriptions of archival material (such as we keep in our Special Collections) in libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives. Contact information for the source archive is provided.
Grant Forward indexes more than 8,000 federal funding opportunities and more than 6,000 foundation opportunities, spanning diverse academic fields including the arts, medical sciences, education, humanities, social sciences, business, engineering and technology, physical sciences, law, and many more. Use your Virginia Tech email address to set up an account.
SciTech Connect indexes citations and full-text technical reports, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, and data sets related to publicly available Department of Energy sponsored research. 1940s-present.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations is an index of over 1.5 million electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). To the extent possible, the index is limited to records of graduate-level theses that are freely available online.
The FAO catalog indexes documents published by FAO since 1945, books added to the FAO library since 1976, and journals held by the FAO library. Use interlibrary loan to obtain documents identified through this catalog.
FishTraits contains full-text descriptions of freshwater fish found in the U.S.: trophic ecology, body size, reproductive ecology, habitats, salinity and temperature tolerances.
Mergent Intellect provides business data and reports, industry news and profiles, executive contact information, plus nationwide residential white pages search.
The History of Science, Technology, and Medicine database indexes citations and abstracts of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, maps, and other materials on the history of science, medicine, and technology. 1600s-present.
The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library provides full-text standards, technical engineering reports, journals, manuals, ebooks, and data series in HTML and PDF covering a wide range of engineering disciples: aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering. All current ASTM standards available online; historic standards available in print.1931-present.
Mango offers online, self-paced, conversational, language-learning courses, including over 40 foreign languages for English speakers (including ancient languages), plus 16 courses of English as a second language. Create a profile on the site to begin; use that profile to access Mango through iOS and Android apps. A microphone is strongly suggested for some exercises.
This database is on trial through November 30, 2012. Historical Newspapers indexes citations for The (London) Times and New York Times, and provides full text in HTML and PDF for The (London) Times. 1800-1980. Please provide feedback on this database to Purdom Lindblad or your college librarian.
Materials Research Database indexes citations and abstracts of journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal articles, patents, and books on all aspects of materials science with specialist content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application. 1880s-present.
Mergent's Event Data provides on-going updated information on stock-splits, mergers, tender offers, partial/full calls, and name changes in almost real time. You can research 10 years of corporate actions, dividends, fixed income, and unit investment trust data.
The National Academies Press provides over 4000 free PDF ebooks (most of their published titles). Free registration is required before you can download the PDFs. You can download a single PDF for the entire book, or one for each chapter. We link from the Addison screen for our print copies to the online version on the NAP site. You can browse subject categories or search across the collection.
The Plantwise Knowledge Bank provides crop pest distribution maps, a diagnostic tool, plus full-text factsheets in HTML and PDF on plants and their pests.
SpringerProtocols is a set of peer-reviewed, reproducible procedures for scientific experiments in the life sciences with step-by-step instructions in HTML and PDF and some streaming videos. 1980s-present.
The Open Knowledge Repository provides full-text reports, journals, working papers, books, and economic studies in HTML and PDF on international economic topics. 1978-present.
LandScan is a global population database that shows geographical distribution of population at one-kilometer resolution over an average 24-hour period. Demographic (age, race, sex) and socioeconomic characteristics are integrated with population data to allow integration with risk and impact assessment models.
NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.