Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Database of the week: America's Historical Newspapers


America's Historical Newspapers from Newsbank Readex

    Newsbank Readex
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 from Newsbank Readex

July 27, 2014 – Cover-to-cover reproductions of 1,000+ US newspapers in PDF. Restrict searches to dates/eras, article types (news & opinion, election returns, letters, poetry/songs, legislative, prices, advertisements, matrimony & death notices), region/state, and newspaper name. Includes the digital versions of the Early American Newspapers microforms collection, African American Newspapers 1827-1998, and a collection of Virginia newspapers (labeled Selected Historical Newspapers).  

Full record

Fighting broke out on July 28, 1914 in what would quickly become World War 1. Researchers seeking contemporary reports and views of the war, politics, international relations, and historical figures of this conflict can access numerous historical American newspapers through this database. Entire papers have been digitized, including not only articles, but photos, advertising, letters to the editor and other editorials, and other features often left out of other scholarly databases. Additional primary source databases can provide and international perspective.


This search box finds library databases by their titles and descriptions. It does not search for articles within databases. Keyword searches won't work here. (If you don't know which database to use, try one of the links listed below.)

Databases by subject | Databases by format | General interest databases


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.