This section lists indexes, encyclopedias, and other reference sources that are only available in print. The entries here will include the location and call number for the material, and any special notes for use.
Print indexes cover older material or material not indexed in electronic databases. They are essential if you are doing comprehensive research on a topic. Print indexes may be located using Addison, the library catalog. Find print indexes using the advanced search screen. Change the first search box to type Subject and enter indexes. Enter topic keywords or subjects in the second search box. Print indexes will often be found in a reference collection (two in Newman, others in branch libraries) unless duplicated by an online database.
While we regularly add online versions of subject-encyclopedias and similar reference sources, we still have many of these valuable tools in print. These lists include ones regular used and referred to by subject librarians. You can find other in Addison, using the advanced search screen. Change the first search box to type Subject and enter one of the following: encyclopedia, dictionaries, or handbook. Enter topic keywords or subjects in the second search box. Print reference sources will often be found in a reference collection (two in Newman, others in branch libraries).
Covers all aspects of agriculture in developing regions of the world, particularly the tropics. 1975-1995.
SB111.A2 A22 SciTech Ref
Agricultural index covers all aspects of agriculture, natural, and human resources. Indexes scholarly, trade, and popular journals as well as publications from the US Departments of Agriculture, research centers, experiment stations, and extension agencies across the English speaking world. 1916-1964.
S494.5.A39 A47 SciTech Ref
Provides abstracts of volunteer papers as well as invitational papers presented at the society's annual meetings. 1953-2000.
S1 .A5 Newman 4th Floor
Index to the literature on domestic and wild animal behavior. Essential for pre-1982 research. 1974-1981.
QL750 .B431 SciTech Ref
Index to world literature on animal breeding. Essential for pre-1973 research. 1935-1973.
SF1 A63 SciTech Ref
Covers all aspects of agriculture. Most useful for identifying publications of the U.S. Dept of Agriculture. 1942-1975.
S493 .B52 SciTech Ref
Index to worldwide literature in the life sciences. Covers all aspects of the life sciences. Emphasis is on basic rather than applied research. Essential for pre-1969 research. 1926-1968.
QH301 .B37 SciTech Ref
Provides information on all aspects of milk production, secretion, processing, and milk products.1935-2005.
SF221 .I36 SciTech Ref
Covers all aspects of ecology and the biology of the environment. Essential index for pre-1983 references. 1974-1998.
QH540 .E26 Newman 4th Floor
This two-volume reference set provides up-to-date information on a broad range of topics related to the biology, production, and uses of animals and their products in today's complex, diverse, and rapidly changing world. This edition covers new developments in genomics, transgenesis, cloning, and mathematical model constructions. Illustrated with b&w photographs, tables, charts, and diagrams.
The Encyclopedia of Dairy Sciences covers the core theories, methods, and techniques employed by dairy scientists. Included are numerous figures and tables illustrating the text as well as a color plate section in each volume. The inclusion of "Further Reading" lists at the end of each article provide easy access to further information and a guide into the primary literature.
SF229 .E52 2003 SciTech Ref
The Encyclopedia of Forest Science summarizes recent advances in forest science techniques. It also covers relevant biology and ecology, different types of forestry (e.g. tropical forestry and dryland forestry), scientific names of trees and shrubs, and the applied, economic, and social aspects of forest management. Illustrative tables, figures, and photographs are presented with every entry.
SD126 .E53 2004 SciTech Ref
The approximately 300 entries in this encyclopedia of human geography cover cartography and geographic information systems, economic geography, geographic theory and history, political geography, social and cultural geography, and urban geography. Entries are cross-referenced and provide guides to further reading.
GF4 .E54 2006 Newman 3rd Floor
Forest Products and Wood Science: An Introduction is a completely revised and updated edition of the venerable classic textbook. Expanding and updating key data, this text will provide students, wood scientists, and wood product professionals with a comprehensive overview of the anatomical and physical nature of wood and the relationship of these characteristics to its use as an industrial raw material.
TA419 .B68 2007 Newman 5th Floor
Covers all aspects of parasitology, nematology, and helminthology in plants, animals, and humans. Essential index for pre-1970 references. 1932-1969.
QL1 .H43 SciTech Ref
Provides research information on grasslands and forage, from natural grasslands to cultivated fodder crops, from physiology to ecology, and from production to utilization. 1931-1993.
SB4 .H38 SciTech Ref
The International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences is the first attempt in a generation to map the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale. It comprises 4,000 articles, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
H41 .I58 2001 Newman Reference
Landmarks of Science is a collection of over 6000 books in microfiche format on the history of science, technology, and western civilization. It is ideal for tracing the development of scientific principles. The collection also facilitates multidisciplinary studies across such curricula as history, languages, philosophy, astronomy, music, and science. 1400s-early 1900s.
Covers scientific research and practical applications in pharmaceuticals, foods, and agriculture. 1966-1997.
QR53 .I532 SciTech Ref
Covers clinical applications and pure research in all aspects of bacteriology. 1966-1997.
QR1 .M62 SciTech Ref
Covers life cycles of algae, fungi, and protozoa, and their interactions with animals and plants. 1973-1984.
QK564 .M52 SciTech Ref
Index to worldwide literature on all aspects of animal nutrition, feeds, feeding, etc. Essential for pre-1973 research. 1931-1976.
RM214 .N8 SciTech Ref
Covers literature on insects and other pests of cultivated plants, forest trees and stored products and beneficial arthropods such as parasites and predators. 1913-2003.
QL461 .R42 SciTech Ref
Covers all aspects of fish (both wild and farmed), aquaculture, fisheries, fish health, etc. Essential index for pre-1972 references. 1955-1995.
SH1 .S82 SciTech Ref
Provides comprehensive index to worldwide publications covering all areas of zoology and animal science including anatomy, behavior, conservation, distribution, ecology and environment, evolution, nutrition, systematics, veterinary science. 1870-2003.
QL1 .R42 SciTech Ref
Sun: 9:00am - 10:00pm
Mon-Thu, 7:30am - 10:00pm
Fri: 7:30am - 8:00pm
Sat: 9:00am - 8:00pm
Sun: 1:00pm - 5:00pm
Mon-Fri: 8:00am - 5:00pm
Sat: Closed
Sun: Closed
Mon-Thu: 11:00am - 8:00pm
Fri: 11:00am - 6:30pm
Sat: 9:00am - 5:00pm
Sun: Closed
Mon-Thu: 8:00am - 6:00pm
Fri: 8:00am - 5:00pm
Sat: 1:00pm - 6:00pm