Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Agricultural, biological, and medical sciences

This subject category includes databases covering the life sciences: agriculture, biology, and natural resources. Use these databases for research and courses in the colleges of Agriculture & Life Sciences, Natural Resources, Science, and Veterinary Medicine.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
ACS Symposium Series
    American Chemical Society
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ACS Symposium Series

The ACS Symposium Series provides full text ebooks (each chapter is a separate HTML page or PDF) covering agriculture, food chemistry, organic and polymer chemistry, and chemical education topics. Each book is peer-reviewed. 1974-present.  

Full record

Feb 10, 2012 e1001168
AGRICOLA from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

AGRICOLA from ProQuest

AGRICOLA indexes citations for journal articles, books, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture, life sciences, nutrition, and environmental science. This database provides selective worldwide coverage of primary information sources in agriculture and related fields. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1970-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000007
AGRICOLA from USDA (NAL Catalog)
    National Agriculture Library
This resource is freely accessible

AGRICOLA from USDA (NAL Catalog)

Two databases are included: books, serials, audiovisuals, and other resources held by NAL and its cooperators, and a Journal Article Citation Index covering articles dated 1985-present. Covers all aspects of agriculture, life sciences, nutrition, and environmental science.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000172
AGRIS from FAO
    Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
This resource is freely accessibleContents of this resource available through Summon

AGRIS from FAO

AGRIS is a full-text repository and citation index created by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations to facilitate information exchange and to identify world literature dealing with all aspects of agriculture. It is particularly strong in literature from developing countries. AGRIS covers the wide range of subjects related to agriculture, including forestry, animal husbandry, aquatic sciences and fisheries, human nutrition, and extension. Its content includes unique grey literature such as unpublished scientific and technical reports, theses, conference papers, government publications, and more. Full text available in PDF and HTML. 1975-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000194
ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering from ProQuest

ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering is an abstracting and indexing database that covers agricultural, medical, design, and engineering publications. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. Sources include periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, patents, press releases, and books. 1981-present; abstracts available 1993-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 1000006
AQUASTAT from FAO
    Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

AQUASTAT from FAO

AQUASTAT collects, analyzes, and disseminates information on water resources, water uses, and agricultural water management with an emphasis on countries in Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Caribbean. Information and datasets are available by country on land use and population, climate and water resource, water use, by sector and by source, irrigation and drainage development, and environment and health. 1958-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
ASABE Technical Library
    American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

ASABE Technical Library

The ASABE Technical Library contains the full text of conference proceedings, meeting papers, journals, standards, and technical papers of the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (PDF and HTML). Some books and textbooks are also available (each chapter is a separate PDF).  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000202
ASFA 1: Biological Sciences & Living Resources from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ASFA 1: Biological Sciences & Living Resources from ProQuest

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources indexes citations and abstracts of basic and applied research on aquatic organisms. Sources include journals, books, conference papers, reports, patents, dissertations, and maps. Abstracts cover laboratory studies as well as research in the field. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1971-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000014
ASFA 2: Ocean Technology, Policy and Non-Living Resources from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ASFA 2: Ocean Technology, Policy & Non-Living Resources from ProQuest

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts 2: Ocean Technology, Policy and Non-Living Resources indexes citations and abstracts of oceanography, ocean engineering, social sciences including international policy, and economics topics like trade and commerce. Sources include journals, books, conference papers, reports, patents, dissertations, and maps. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1971-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000015
ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality from ProQuest

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality indexes citations and abstracts of research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers, and estuaries. Sources include journals, books, conference papers, reports, patents, dissertations, and maps. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1971-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000016
ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts from ProQuest

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts: Aquaculture Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts of all aspects of marine and freshwater aquaculture. Sources include journals, books, conference papers, reports, patents, dissertations, and maps. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1984-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000017
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ASFA: Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts from ProQuest

ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstract indexes citations and abstracts of all aspects of aquatic resources, including life sciences, economics, and social science/public policy aspects. Sources include journals, books, conference papers, reports, patents, dissertations, and maps. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1971-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000019
ASFA: Marine Biotechnology Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts from ProQuest

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts: Marine Biotechnology Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts of marine biotechnology, molecular biology and molecular genetics research. Sources include journals, books, conference papers, reports, patents, dissertations, and maps. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1989-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000018
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts from ProQuest

ASSIA is an index of citations and abstracts to journal articles in the social sciences and education, economics, and health fields. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1987-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000020
Academic Search Complete from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Academic Search Complete from EBSCOhost

Academic Search Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, books, reports, and conference proceedings in all subject disciplines. Full text provided in PDF and HTML. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals. Searches can be limited to peer reviewed sources. Indexing 1887-present, most content 1980s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000630
Acta Horticulturae
    Acta Horticulturae
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Acta Horticulturae

Acta Horticulturae provides the full text (PDF) of conference proceedings and technical reports from this peer-reviewed series of publications from the International Society of Horticultural Science. Content is searchable and browsable by publication year. 1963-present.  

Full record

Mar 2, 2012 e1001190
AgEcon Search from the University of Minnesota
    AgEcon
This resource is freely accessible

AgEcon Search from the University of Minnesota

Open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in the broadly defined field of agricultural economics including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development. The majority of items in AgEcon Search are working papers, conference papers, and journal articles, although other types such as books chapters and government documents are included. Many sources are peer reviewed and content is delivered as PDFs. 1922-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
AgNIC
    Agriculture Information Network Center
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

AgNIC

AgNIC indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text from journals, reports, image collections, and more from many partner libraries and institutions.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Agriculture, Life, and Natural Resource databases from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Agriculture, Life Science, and Natural Resource databases from ProQuest

This database indexes citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, conference papers, reference works, and dissertations (in full text PDFs) across multiple agricultural, biological, and natural resource databases on the ProQuest platform. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. Use the Databases link at the top of the screen to change which databases are searched.  

Full record

Jun 28, 2012 e1001243
Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP)
    Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP)

The Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP) is a subject index to citations of significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals. 1988-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Algology, Mycology & Protozoology Abstracts (Microbiology C) from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Algology, Mycology & Protozoology Abstracts (Microbiology C) from ProQuest

Algology, Mycology & Protozoology Abstracts indexes citations of journal articles and conference papers concerning algae, fungi, protozoa, or lichens as well as research in immunology, pathology, environmental research, toxicology, and other related fields. The scope of coverage includes reproduction, growth, life cycles, biochemistry, genetics, and infection and immunity in man, other animals, and plants. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1982-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000078
Animal Behavior Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Animal Behavior Abstracts from ProQuest

Animal Behavior Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts in behavioral and related studies, from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology, and from genetics to applied ethology. Researchers will also find field and laboratory inquiries summarized. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1982-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000012
Animal Drugs @ FDA
    FDA
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Animal Drugs @ FDA

Replaces the Database of Approved Animal Drug Products or Green Book, a database that was previously developed and managed by the Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine (VMRCVM) Drug Information Laboratory. Allows users to search for detailed descriptions of all FDA-approved new animal drugs, including patents.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Animal Health and Production Compendium from CABI
    Centre for Agricultural Bioscience International
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Animal Health and Production Compendium from CABI

Animal Health and Production Compendium (AHPC) provides detailed information on agricultural and biological sciences. It contains datasheets (HTML and PDF) on livestock and the diseases that affect them, datasheets on food safety and quality, and datasheets on countries' statistical data on animal and economic production. It also provides PDF and HTML full-text documents on all aspects of food animals as well as an index to citations for agricultural publications and nearly 2,000 images. A geographic database contains country distribution data for diseases and breeds for use with GIS software. 1910s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1001008
AnimalBase
    AnimalBase
This resource is freely accessible

AnimalBase

AnimalBase provides copyright-free open access to zoological works and provides manually verified lists of names of zoological genera and species. It includes digitized books and journal articles, most from prior to 1900, in their original language. Documents display as scanned images; many can be downloaded as PDFs. You can also search or browse by species, genus, or family. 350 BCE-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Annual Reviews
    Annual Reviews
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews publishes comprehensive, critical, primary-literature reviews (HTML and PDF) for 40 scientific disciplines within the biological and medical, engineering and physical, and social sciences including economics. It is a useful starting point for upper level research because it synthesizes the vast amount of primary research literature and identifies the principal contributions in each field. 1939-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000125
Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective from EBSCOhost

Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective indexes citations from English-language academic journals and specialized magazines. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1913-1983.

Full record

Dec 19, 2011 e1001013
Approved Methods of Analysis from AACC International
    AACC International Approved Methods of Analysis
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Approved Methods of Analysis from AACC International

This online handbook provides standardized methods of chemical analysis from the AACC International organization (formerly the American Association of Cereal Chemist). Summaries of methods are provided as web pages; complete methods are PDFs. You can browse or search methods. 11th edition.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000739
Aquaculture Compendia Online from CABI
    Centre for Agricultural Bioscience International
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Aquaculture Compendia Online from CABI

Aquaculture Compendia is an encyclopedic resource covering all aspects of aquaculture, including aquatic animal and plant production, natural resources and environment, biodiversity, trade, food security and safety, and social issues. It provides datasheets, book chapters, article citations, case studies, a glossary, geographic and country data, and pictures. Some full text in PDF. 1932-present. Limit to   simultaneous users.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000144
Aqualine from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Aqualine from ProQuest

Aqualine indexes citations concerning all aspects of water resources, including business, environmental, scientific, and engineering aspects. Articles on these topics are drawn from journals, conference proceedings, scientific reports, books and theses. Each entry includes bibliographic citation, abstract, geographic index terms, and subject index terms. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1960-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000013