Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Engineering and physical sciences

This subject category includes databases covering engineering and the physical sciences: chemistry, geosciences, mathematics, physics, and statistics. Use these databases for research and courses in the colleges of Engineering and Sciences.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
AAPG/Datapages
    American Association of Petroleum Geologists
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

AAPG/Datapages

AAPG/Databases provides article, journal, and ebook collections, and conference presentations from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists. Content provided in PDF and HTML formats. 1935-present.  

 Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000464
ACM Digital Library
    Association of Computing Machinery
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon

ACM Digital Library

Journals, newsletters, and proceedings from the Association of Computing Machinery in PDF. Search, or browse by title. 1954-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000122
ACS Symposium Series
    American Chemical Society
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ACS Symposium Series

The ACS Symposium Series provides full text ebooks (each chapter is a separate HTML page or PDF) covering agriculture, food chemistry, organic and polymer chemistry, and chemical education topics. Each book is peer-reviewed. 1974-present.  

Full record

Feb 10, 2012 e1001168
AGU Digital Library
    American Geophysical Union
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

AGU Digital Library

The AGU Digital Library indexes citations, abstracts, and full text of more than 100 years of Earth and space science research. Cited By references are available for many articles. Lectures/interviews are provided via streaming video. Some book content is available as full-text PDFs, other books provide abstracts to chapters/sections. 1896-1995. Limited to   simultaneous users.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000741
AIAA Aerospace Research Central
    American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

AIAA Aerospace Research Central

Includes full text of AIAA journal articles and technical papers from 1963 - present as PDFs, as well as full text of the publications of the American Rocket Society and the Institute of the Aerospace Sciences, 1930 - 1962. Citations (not full text) of AIAA standards are also available. See the or detailed instructions on finding AIAA documents.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000204
AIP Conference Proceedings
    Scitation
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

AIP Conference Proceedings

AIP Conference Proceedings provide full-text papers in PDF for nearly all of their publications. 1970-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000702
ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering from ProQuest

ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering is an abstracting and indexing database that covers agricultural, medical, design, and engineering publications. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. Sources include periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, patents, press releases, and books. 1981-present; abstracts available 1993-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 1000006
AQUASTAT from FAO
    Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

AQUASTAT from FAO

AQUASTAT collects, analyzes, and disseminates information on water resources, water uses, and agricultural water management with an emphasis on countries in Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Caribbean. Information and datasets are available by country on land use and population, climate and water resource, water use, by sector and by source, irrigation and drainage development, and environment and health. 1958-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
ASCE Civil Engineering Database
    ASCE Civil Engineering Database
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

ASCE Civil Engineering Database

The Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) indexes citations for all ASCE publications. The database covers all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers published by ASCE. Journal papers with abstracts go back to 1970. Non-abstract journal records go back to 1958. The book records are complete dating back to the early 1900s.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000747
ASCE Library
    ASCE Research Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ASCE Library

The ASCE Library contains the pdf full text of all ASCE journals and conference proceedings. Full text journals are available beginning in 1983 (or from Volume 1, if journals start after 1983), and full text conference proceedings from 1996. (ASCE standards are not included.)  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000201
ASFA 2: Ocean Technology, Policy and Non-Living Resources from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ASFA 2: Ocean Technology, Policy & Non-Living Resources from ProQuest

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts 2: Ocean Technology, Policy and Non-Living Resources indexes citations and abstracts of oceanography, ocean engineering, social sciences including international policy, and economics topics like trade and commerce. Sources include journals, books, conference papers, reports, patents, dissertations, and maps. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1971-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000015
ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality from ProQuest

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality indexes citations and abstracts of research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers, and estuaries. Sources include journals, books, conference papers, reports, patents, dissertations, and maps. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1971-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000016
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ASFA: Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts from ProQuest

ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstract indexes citations and abstracts of all aspects of aquatic resources, including life sciences, economics, and social science/public policy aspects. Sources include journals, books, conference papers, reports, patents, dissertations, and maps. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1971-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000019
ASFA: Marine Biotechnology Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts from ProQuest

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts: Marine Biotechnology Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts of marine biotechnology, molecular biology and molecular genetics research. Sources include journals, books, conference papers, reports, patents, dissertations, and maps. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1989-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000018
ASM Handbooks Online
    American Society for Metals
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

ASM Handbooks Online

ASM Handbooks Online features the complete content of twenty-four ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions (the Engineered Materials Handbook and the Metals Handbook). All content is HTML.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000200
ASME Digital Collection
    American Society of Mechanical Engineers
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ASME Digital Collection

Full-text archive of American Society of Mechanical Engineers Transaction journals and conference proceedings (PDFs), and citations and abstracts of ASME ebook publications. Journals 1980-present, conference proceedings 2002-2007.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000386
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library
    American Society for Testing and Materials
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library

The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library provides full-text standards, technical engineering reports, journals, manuals, ebooks, and data series in HTML and PDF covering a wide range of engineering disciples: aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering. All current ASTM standards available online; historic standards available in print.1931-present.  

Full record

Feb 1, 2013 e1001511
Academic Search Complete from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Academic Search Complete from EBSCOhost

Academic Search Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, books, reports, and conference proceedings in all subject disciplines. Full text provided in PDF and HTML. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals. Searches can be limited to peer reviewed sources. Indexing 1887-present, most content 1980s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000630
Aerospace Database from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Aerospace Database from ProQuest

Aerospace Database indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference papers, magazines, books, patents, and technical reports on the engineering and physical science aspects of aeronautics and space. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1962-present.  

Full record

Jun 21, 2012
Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP)
    Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP)

The Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP) is a subject index to citations of significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals. 1988-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Aluminum Industry Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links Contents of this resource available through Summon

Aluminum Industry Abstracts from ProQuest

Aluminium Industry Abstracts indexes citations of the world's technical literature on aluminum, production processes, products, applications, and business developments. Sources covered include periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1972-current.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000011
Annual Reviews
    Annual Reviews
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews publishes comprehensive, critical, primary-literature reviews (HTML and PDF) for 40 scientific disciplines within the biological and medical, engineering and physical, and social sciences including economics. It is a useful starting point for upper level research because it synthesizes the vast amount of primary research literature and identifies the principal contributions in each field. 1939-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000125
Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective from EBSCOhost

Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective indexes citations from English-language academic journals and specialized magazines. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1913-1983.

Full record

Dec 19, 2011 e1001013
Approved Methods of Analysis from AACC International
    AACC International Approved Methods of Analysis
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Approved Methods of Analysis from AACC International

This online handbook provides standardized methods of chemical analysis from the AACC International organization (formerly the American Association of Cereal Chemist). Summaries of methods are provided as web pages; complete methods are PDFs. You can browse or search methods. 11th edition.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000739
Aqualine from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Aqualine from ProQuest

Aqualine indexes citations concerning all aspects of water resources, including business, environmental, scientific, and engineering aspects. Articles on these topics are drawn from journals, conference proceedings, scientific reports, books and theses. Each entry includes bibliographic citation, abstract, geographic index terms, and subject index terms. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1960-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000013
Astronomical Almanac Online
    Astronomical Almanac
This resource is freely accessible

Astronomical Almanac Online

Online version of the Astronomical Almanac, a joint publication of the Nautical Almanac Office in the United States and Her Majesty's Nautical Almanac Office (HMNAO) in the United Kingdom.The Astronomical Almanac Online does not duplicate all the data from the book. It does, in some cases, provide additional information or greater precision than the printed data. Updates to this site occur regularly and accompany the publication of the book. Data tables presented in HTML, PDF, and ASCII.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000708
Astrophysics Data System Abstract Service from SAO/NASA
    SAO/NASA
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Astrophysics Data System Abstract Service from SAO/NASA

Search or browse full text and citations to articles, conference proceedings, reports, data catalogs, dissertations, and digitized books in astronomy and astrophysics. Includes scans of  historical astronomical publications. 1800s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Atmospheric Science from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Atmospheric Science from ProQuest

Atmospheric Science indexes citations, abstracts, and some full-text journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and technical reports on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1974-present.  

Full record

Nov 18, 2013 e1001664
arXiv.org from Cornell University Library
    arXiv
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon Green open access - self archiving

arXiv.org from Cornell University Library

ArXiv is a highly-automated electronic, open archive and distribution server for research articles in engineering and the physical sciences. Full text available in a variety of formats, including PDF, HTML, and PS.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010