Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Agricultural, biological, and medical sciences

This subject category includes databases covering the life sciences: agriculture, biology, and natural resources. Use these databases for research and courses in the colleges of Agriculture & Life Sciences, Natural Resources, Science, and Veterinary Medicine.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Bacteriology Abstracts - Microbiology B from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Bacteriology Abstracts - Microbiology B from ProQuest

Bacteriology Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, books, conference papers, and patents that cover the biological, medical, environmental, and genetic aspects of bacteria. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1982-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000021
BioOne
    BioOne
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

BioOne

The BioOne collections 1 and 2 contain over 150 bioscience research journals. The link above allows you to search any or all of the BioOne publications and to access the full text of articles. You may also view a list and connect directly to individual titles within these collections. Content is available as HTML and PDF. 1998-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000209
BioOne Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

BioOne Abstracts from ProQuest

An index of abstracts of the journals published by BioOne , which cover all aspects of biosciences. (The BioOne site allows full-text searching.) You can limit to peer-reviewed sources.1998-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1001254
Biodiversity Heritage Library
    Biodiversity Heritage Library
This resource is freely accessible

Biodiversity Heritage Library

BHL contains scanned, historic, biological literature from major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions: books, journals, and more. Content can be downloaded as PDF, ASCII, or just the images contained within the object. 1480-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Biological Abstracts from homson Reuters Web of Knowledge
    ISI Web of Science
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Biological Abstracts from Thomson Web of Science

Biological Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from life science journals and meeting reports. 1926-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000167
Biological Sciences encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Biological Sciences encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across 13 subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 80,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Biosis from Thomson Reuters Web of Knowledge
    ISI Web of Science
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

BIOSIS Citation Index from Thomson Web of Science

Biosis indexes journal articles, conference papers, books and book chapters, and patents on all areas of life sciences including molecular and cell biography, pharmacology, endocrinology, genetics, neurosciences, and ecology. You can perform cited reference searches. 1926-present.

Full record

Jun 10, 2013
Biosystems Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

Biosystems Database from NLM

The BioSystems Database provides data and reports on biological pathways. A biosystem, or biological system, is a group of molecules that interact in a biological system. One type of biosystem is a biological pathway, which can consist of interacting genes, proteins, and small molecules. Another type of biosystem is a disease, which can involve components such as genes, biomarkers, and drugs.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Biotechnology & Bioengineering Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts from ProQuest

Biotechnology Research Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts in medicine, agriculture, and engineering related journals, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and patents. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1982-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000025
Biotechnology Research Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Biotechnology Research Abstracts from ProQuest

Biotechnology Research Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and government reports on the agricultural, medical, and environmental aspects of biotechnology and bioengineering . You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1980s-present.  

Full record

Jun 20, 2012 e1001260
Birds of North America - BNA
    Birds of North America (BNA)
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Birds of North America (BNA)

Birds of North America is a comprehensive reference covering the life histories of North American birds with detailed scientific information for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada. This is an updated online version of the print series of the same name. Each encyclopedic entry includes a list of references and may include images, audio, and video.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000451
Book Citation Index from Thomson Reuters Web of Science
    ISI Web of Science
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Book Citation Index from Thomson Web of Science

Book Citation Index indexes books and book chapters in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. You can do cited reference searches. 2005-present.

Full record

Jun 11, 2013