Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Social sciences and education

This subject category includes databases covering social sciences and human sciences, including anthropology, communication, education, history, human development, international studies, law, military science, political science, psychology, public administration, and sociology. Use these databases for research and courses in the colleges of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences, Architecture and Urban Studies, and the School of Education.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Background Notes (U.S. State Department reports)
    United States Department of State
This resource is freely accessible

Background Notes (U.S. State Department reports)

Background Notes include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty. Background Notes are updated/revised by the Office of Electronic Information and Publications of the Bureau of Public Affairs as they are received from the Department's regional bureaus.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000708
Biafran War Database from Africa Knowledge Project
    African Knowledge Project
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Biafran War Database from Africa Knowledge Project

The Biafran War Database indexes full-text items from newspapers, photographs, interviews, archival materials, declassified intelligence reports, and theses and dissertations on the Nigerian conflict. Documents available in PDF and audio files as MP3. 1968-present.

Full record

Mar 13, 2012
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS online)
    Bibliography of Asian Studies
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS online)

BAS indexes citations from journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and reports on the social science and humanities aspects of East, Southeast, and South Asia. The "Find it @ your library" button connects to Get VText. 1971-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000503
Black Newspapers from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Black Newspapers from ProQuest

This database is on trial through October 31, 2014. Black Newspapers provides full-text access to nine current Black U.S. newspapers. It is cross-searchable with other ProQuest newspaper databases. Please complete this online survey to provide feedback on this trial database.  

Full record

Oct 1, 2014 e1001724
Black Studies Center from ProQuest
    Black Studies Center
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Black Studies Center from ProQuest

Black Studies Centers provides the full text of essays, journals, newspapers, dissertations, and abolitionist papers, plus citations and abstracts for fiction, poetry, and literary reviews from black periodicals and newspapers. It includes videos of oral history interviews from African Americans who have made significant contributions to history and politics, education, law, the creative arts, science and medicine, business, the military, and sports.

Full record

Feb 26, 2014 e1001676
Book Citation Index from Thomson Reuters Web of Science
    ISI Web of Science
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Book Citation Index from Thomson Web of Science

Book Citation Index indexes books and book chapters in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. You can do cited reference searches. 2005-present.

Full record

Jun 11, 2013
British Periodicals - Collections I and II from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

British Periodicals Collections I and II from ProQuest

British Periodicals is a collection of digitized periodicals covering the humanities, performing arts, history, science, architecture, and especially literature. Documents are available as high-resolution images and downloadable PDFs. Browse individual journals or search across the collection. All content is indexed, including advertising. Searches can be limited to multimedia types, including maps, illustrations, comics, photos, and music scores. 1681-1939.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000432