Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Agricultural, biological, and medical sciences

This subject category includes databases covering the life sciences: agriculture, biology, and natural resources. Use these databases for research and courses in the colleges of Agriculture & Life Sciences, Natural Resources, Science, and Veterinary Medicine.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
CAB Abstracts from CABDirect
    CAB
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

CAB Abstracts from CABDirect

CAB Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, books, reports, handbooks, conference proceedings, field notes, and theses in agriculture, life sciences, natural resources, veterinary sciences, applied economics, nutrition, tourism, and the environment. Includes the CAB Abstracts Archive. Some full text available as PDFs. 1910s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000144
CARIS from FAO
    Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
This resource is freely accessible

CARIS from FAO

Created to identify and facilitate the exchange of information about current agricultural research projects being carried out in developing countries, including natural resources, nutrition, and agricultural economics. Basic information about each project is presented. 1975-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000154
CIA World Fact Book
    Central Intelligence Agency
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

CIA World Fact Book

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. The Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as flags of the world, a physical map of the world, a political map of the world, and a standard time zones of the world map.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
CONSULTANT from Cornell University
    CONSULTANT from Cornell University
This resource is freely accessible

CONSULTANT from Cornell University

CONSULTANT is a diagnostic support system that suggests possible diagnoses or causes for clinical signs. It provides a brief synopsis of the diagnoses, including a general description, the species affected, signs associated with it, and a list of recent literature refences.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
COS Conference Papers Index from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

COS Conference Papers Index from ProQuest

Conference Papers indexes citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life and environmental sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science. Links to conference programs are often provided. 1982-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000032
CRIS - Current Research Information System
    Current Research Information System
This resource is freely accessible

CRIS - Current Research Information System

CRIS is the U.S. Department of Agriculture's documentation and reporting system for ongoing and recently completed research and education projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry. Research summarized in reports in CRIS is often published elsewhere, and the report will note where publication was expected. 1966-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Calcium and Calcified Tissue Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Calcium and Calcified Tissue Abstracts from ProQuest

Calcium and Calcified Tissue Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents on all biological and medical aspects of calcium. You can limit to peer reviewed sources. 1982-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000026
ChemIDplus Advanced from the NLM
    ChemIDplus from NLM
This resource is freely accessible

ChemIDplus Advanced from the NLM

Searches the NLM ChemIDplus database of over 370,000 chemicals and displays numerous properties (and sometimes lists citations for sources of the data, but it does not search article citations directly). Allows various search capabilities beyond the Lite version including chemical structure, toxicity, and physical property searching. You will need a web browser that has a recent version of Java installed. There is a structure drawing and display applet named Marvin. An alternative method to provide the capabilities needed to accept a structure query is the Chime plug-in.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
ChemIDplus Lite from the NLM
    ChemIDplus from NLM
This resource is freely accessible

ChemIDplus Lite from the NLM

Provides access to structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in NLM databases, including the TOXNET system. Also provides structure searching and direct links to many biomedical resources. Contains over 388,000 chemical records, of which over 295,000 include chemical structures, and is searchable by Name, Synonym, CAS Registry Number, Molecular Formula, Classification Code, Locator Code, Structure, Toxicity, and/or Physical properties.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Chemoreception Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Chemoreception Abstracts from ProQuest

Chemoreception Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts of journal articles, conference papers, books, patents, and technical reports from many diverse disciplines relating to the biochemistry, neurobiology, molecular biology, and physiology of smell, taste, internal chemoreception, chemotaxis, and infochemicals such as pheromones. Other coverage includes such practical areas as food chemistry, odor pollution and control, and perfumery. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1982-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000028
Climate Change: In Context from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Climate Change: In Context from Gale Virtual Reference Library

Climate Change: In Context provides full-text reference article in HTML and PDF on the science and social science aspects of climate change, including a chronology of events and a glossary of terminology.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Conference Proceedings Citation Index from Thomson Reuters Web of Science
    ISI Web of Science
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Conference Proceedings Citation Index from Thomson Web of Science

Conference Proceedings Citation Index indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text from publications produced by conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, or conventions. You can do cited reference searches. 1990-present.

Full record

Jun 11, 2013 e1001630
Conserved Domains Database (CDD) from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

Conserved Domains Database (CDD) from NLM

Conserved domains are functional units within a protein that have been used as building blocks in molecular evolution and recombined in various arrangements to make proteins with different functions.

The Conserved Domain Database (CDD) brings together several collections of multiple sequence alignments representing conserved domains, including NCBI-curated domains, which use 3D-structure information to explicitly to define domain boundaries and provide insights into sequence/structure/function relationships, as well as domain models imported from a number of external source database

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) from Cornell University Library
    Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA)
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) from Cornell University Library

The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture is a core electronic collection of scanned agricultural texts. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science, forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. 1620-1999.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Country Profiles and Mapping Information System from FAO
    Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
This resource is freely accessible

Country Profiles and Mapping Information System from FAO

Country Profiles and Mapping Information System provides country-level reports and statistical data in FAO "fields of expertise" (namely sustainable development, economic situation, agriculture/ forestry/ fishery sectors, technical cooperation) and "priority areas" (biodiversity, biosecurity, biotechnology, climate change, ecosystem management, emergency operations, ethics, food for cities, gender, global studies, information management, integrated production systems, organic farming, spatial information, sustainable livelihoods, trade agreements).

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Crop Protection Compendium Online from CABI
    Centre for Agricultural Bioscience International
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

Crop Protection Compendium Online from CABI

Up-to-date information on 10,000 pests, diseases, weeds and natural enemy species worldwide. Over 3,700 complete datasheets, provided by over 1,100 specialists. Data for over 200 different crops and over 150 countries, with global and regional distribution maps. Over 8000 images allowing for easy identification of crop pests. Background information on 10,000 pests, diseases, weeds, and natural enemy species providing a complete archive.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1001004
Current Contents Connect from Thomson Reuters Web of Knowledge
    ISI Web of Science
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Current Contents Connect from Thomson Web of Science

Current Contents Connect is a current awareness database that provides access to journal table of contents, abstracts, and bibliographic information from recently published, scholarly journals. 1998-present.

Full record

Jun 25, 2013 e1001638