Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Health and medicine

This subject category includes databases covering the medical sciences, including nutrition, fitness, physiology, and psychiatry. Use these databases for research and courses in the colleges of Agriculture & Life Sciences, Veterinary Medicine, and the Carillion School of Medicine.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
CARIS from FAO
    Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
This resource is freely accessible

CARIS from FAO

Created to identify and facilitate the exchange of information about current agricultural research projects being carried out in developing countries, including natural resources, nutrition, and agricultural economics. Basic information about each project is presented. 1975-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000154
CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health from EBSCOhost

CINAHL provides indexing for citations, abstracts, and full text from journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. It also offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Searchable cited references for some journals are also included. Full-text material (in PDF and HTML) includes journals, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials. 1981-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000105
CRIS - Current Research Information System
    Current Research Information System
This resource is freely accessible

CRIS - Current Research Information System

CRIS is the U.S. Department of Agriculture's documentation and reporting system for ongoing and recently completed research and education projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry. Research summarized in reports in CRIS is often published elsewhere, and the report will note where publication was expected. 1966-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Calcium and Calcified Tissue Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Calcium and Calcified Tissue Abstracts from ProQuest

Calcium and Calcified Tissue Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents on all biological and medical aspects of calcium. You can limit to peer reviewed sources. 1982-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000026
Cancer Chromosomes Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

Cancer Chromosomes Database from NLM

Cancer Chromosomes contains three cancer cytogenetic databases: the NCI Mitelman Database of Chromosome Aberrations in Cancer, the NCI Recurrent Chromosome Aberrations in Cancer, and the NCI and NCBI SKY/M-FISH & CGH Database. Karyotype, SKY/M-FISH, and CGH data can be searched simultaneously. Similarity searches demonstrate cytogenetic and clinical relatedness at varying levels of specificity.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Center for Population Research in LGBT Health from ICPSR
    ICPSR - InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Center for Population Research in LGBT Health from ICPSR

Research shows that sexual and gender minority groups experience health disparities as a result of multiple socio-cultural factors. The Center offers data and resources to health researchers to fill critical knowledge gaps related to the health of sexual and gender minorities, strengthening the foundation for culturally competent treatment and behavior change models. 1963-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000238
ChemIDplus Advanced from the NLM
    ChemIDplus from NLM
This resource is freely accessible

ChemIDplus Advanced from the NLM

Searches the NLM ChemIDplus database of over 370,000 chemicals and displays numerous properties (and sometimes lists citations for sources of the data, but it does not search article citations directly). Allows various search capabilities beyond the Lite version including chemical structure, toxicity, and physical property searching. You will need a web browser that has a recent version of Java installed. There is a structure drawing and display applet named Marvin. An alternative method to provide the capabilities needed to accept a structure query is the Chime plug-in.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
ChemIDplus Lite from the NLM
    ChemIDplus from NLM
This resource is freely accessible

ChemIDplus Lite from the NLM

Provides access to structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in NLM databases, including the TOXNET system. Also provides structure searching and direct links to many biomedical resources. Contains over 388,000 chemical records, of which over 295,000 include chemical structures, and is searchable by Name, Synonym, CAS Registry Number, Molecular Formula, Classification Code, Locator Code, Structure, Toxicity, and/or Physical properties.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Chemoreception Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Chemoreception Abstracts from ProQuest

Chemoreception Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts of journal articles, conference papers, books, patents, and technical reports from many diverse disciplines relating to the biochemistry, neurobiology, molecular biology, and physiology of smell, taste, internal chemoreception, chemotaxis, and infochemicals such as pheromones. Other coverage includes such practical areas as food chemistry, odor pollution and control, and perfumery. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1982-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000028
Child Welfare Information Gateway
    US Dept of Health and Human Services
This resource is freely accessible

Child Welfare Information Gateway

A service of the Children's Bureau within the Administration for Children and Families of the Department of Health and Human Services. The Gateway provides access to resources including print and electronic publications, websites, databases and more covering topics from prevention to permanency, including child welfare, child abuse and neglect, adoption, search and reunion, and much more.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Collaborative Psychiatric Epidemiology Surveys (CPES) from ICPSR
    ICPSR - InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Collaborative Psychiatric Epidemiology Surveys (CPES) from ICPSR

CPES provides data on the distributions, correlates, and risk factors of mental disorders among the general population, with special emphasis on minority groups. CPES permits the investigation of cultural and ethnic influences on mental health. 1990s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000238
Conserved Domains Database (CDD) from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

Conserved Domains Database (CDD) from NLM

Conserved domains are functional units within a protein that have been used as building blocks in molecular evolution and recombined in various arrangements to make proteins with different functions.

The Conserved Domain Database (CDD) brings together several collections of multiple sequence alignments representing conserved domains, including NCBI-curated domains, which use 3D-structure information to explicitly to define domain boundaries and provide insights into sequence/structure/function relationships, as well as domain models imported from a number of external source database

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Consumer Health Complete from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Consumer Health Complete from EBSCOhost

Consumer Health Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from many different source types: evidence-based reports, reference works including medical dictionaries and encyclopedias, fact sheets and pamphlets, news articles, drug information, and multimedia files. You can search by disease, condition, injury, or procedure.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000655