Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Languages and literatures

This subject category includes databases covering languages, linguistics, and literatures in English, foreign languages (especially languages taught by the Foreign Language department), and classics (Greek and Latin).

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index from Chadwyck-Healey
    C19 The nineteenth centure index
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index from Chadwyck-Healey

C19 is a gateway to primary sources from the Anglo-American world between the French Revolution and the end of World War I. Search in/across records compiled in several authoritative indexes to periodicals, book catalogs, and descriptions of archives and US and British government information. Many of the documents indexed in C19 are available in print or microform in Newman Library. C19 also provides access to portions of American Periodicals and British Periodicals full-text databases. 1770-1919.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000431
California Digital Library eScholarship Editions ebooks
    California Digital Library
This resource is freely accessible

California Digital Library eScholarship Editions ebooks

The eScholarship Editions collection includes over 500 freely accessible ebooks from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, humanities, social sciences, science, and literature. (Bibliographic information about 1500 other ebooks us also available; many of these will be available through the Virginia Tech libraries or interlibrary loan.) Ebooks are presented in HTML. 1982-2004.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts
    Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts
This resource is freely accessible

Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts

Offers a means to discover medieval manuscripts available on the web. Very much a work in progress, the database will initially provide links to hundreds of manuscripts, expected to grow to thousands. Basic information about the manuscripts is fully searchable, and users can also browse through the complete contents of the database. As the project develops, a richer body of information for each manuscript, and the texts in these codices, will be provided, where available.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Chicago Manual of Style Online
    Chicago Manual of Style
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Chicago Manual of Style Online

Covers all aspects of academic writing and publishing, including citation guides for both notes/bibliographies (a.k.a "Turabian") and author/date formats, advice on writing style and usage, tools for manuscript preparation, and Q&A pages with recently submitted questions about applying the style guide. Site includes both 16th (2010) and 15th edition (2003).  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000862
Children's Core Collection from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Children's Core Collection from EBSCOhost

Children's Core Collection indexes book citations and reviews for fiction and nonfiction, story collections, picture books, and magazines. 1928-present.  

Full record

Jul 4, 2012 e1001058
Classics encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Classics encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across six subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 25,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Concise Oxford English dictionary from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia database provides Get VText links

Oxford English Dictionary from Oxford Reference Online

The Concise Oxford English Dictionary is a world-famous bestseller, chosen by thousands of users for its up-to-date and authoritative coverage of the English language. It contains over 240,000 words, phrases, and definitions, providing meanings for everyday words including scientific and technical vocabulary, as well as English from around the world. 12th edition.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Conference Proceedings Citation Index from Thomson Reuters Web of Science
    ISI Web of Science
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Conference Proceedings Citation Index from Thomson Web of Science

Conference Proceedings Citation Index indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text from publications produced by conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, or conventions. You can do cited reference searches. 1990-present.

Full record

Jun 11, 2013 e1001630