Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Engineering and physical sciences

This subject category includes databases covering engineering and the physical sciences: chemistry, geosciences, mathematics, physics, and statistics. Use these databases for research and courses in the colleges of Engineering and Sciences.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
DOE Green Energy
    DOE Green Energy
This resource is freely accessible

DOE Green Energy

This portal provides technical documents from thousands of R&D projects conducted at DOE National Laboratories and by DOE-funded awards at universities. Contains both current and historical research, including bibliographic citations, technical reports and patent information on different types of renewable energy resources and energy conservation. Full text available as PDFs. 1940s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
DOE Information Bridge
    DOE Information Bridge
This resource is freely accessible This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link

DOE Information Bridge

Full-text of over 259,000 Department of Energy reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental cleanup, energy technologies, and other topics. Documents available in a variety of formats, including PDF, MS Word, HTML, Postscript, TIFF, and XML. 1991-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000251
Data Citation Index from Thomson Reuters Web of Knowledge
    ISI Web of Science
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Data Citation Index from Thomson Web of Science

Data Citation Index indexes data sets and studies from open and closed repositories, covering the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. It provides detailed records about each data set, offers links to the raw, primary data when possible, and standardizes citations for this material. 1900-present.

Full record

Jun 9, 2013 e1001627
DataOne
    DataOne
This resource is freely accessible Green open access - self archiving

DataOne

DataONE searches against multiple data repositories. You can limit by date or geographic area.

Full record

Jun 17, 2013 e1001634
Databib
    Databib
This resource is freely accessible Green open access - self archiving

Databib

Databib is a catalog of online repositories of research data. Each repository is described by a record written for data users, data producers, publishers and professional societies, and research funding agencies.

Full record

Jun 17, 2013 e1001635
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)
    Defense Technical Information Center
This resource is freely accessible

Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)

DTIC serves the Department of Defense community as a central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information. Provides the warfighter and researchers, scientists, engineers, laboratories, and universities timely access to over 2 million publications covering over 250 subject areas. All visitors can search DTIC's publicly accessible collections and read or download scientific and technical information, using DTIC Online service. Full text, when available, is PDF.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Derwent Innovations Index from Thomson Reuters Web of Science
    ISI Web of Science
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Derwent Innovations Index from Thomson Web of Science

Derwent Innovations Index indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text patents from 40 worldwide patent-issuing authorities. You can view concise abstracts written by subject experts, then link to full-text primary patent records from a range of full patent sources. 1963-present.

Full record

Jun 13, 2013 e1001632
Digital Sanborn Maps - 1867-1970 from UMI
    Sanborn Digital Maps
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Digital Sanborn Maps - 1867-1970 from UMI

Large-scale maps of towns and cities in Virginia and Washington, D.C., useful to urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, and environmentalists. Data contained includes the outline of each building; size, shape, and construction materials; functions of structures; locations of windows and doors; street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, and house and block numbers. Displays images in the browser using a plugin for zooming and scrolling.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000274