Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

General interest

This subject category includes databases are either basic or broad in scope. They include resources that cover multiple subject areas, such as general purpose encyclopedias, large article indexing databases, or newspaper article indexing databases.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Data Citation Index from Thomson Reuters Web of Knowledge
    ISI Web of Science
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Data Citation Index from Thomson Web of Science

Data Citation Index indexes data sets and studies from open and closed repositories, covering the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. It provides detailed records about each data set, offers links to the raw, primary data when possible, and standardizes citations for this material. 1900-present.

Full record

Jun 9, 2013 e1001627
DataOne
    DataOne
This resource is freely accessible Green open access - self archiving

DataOne

DataONE searches against multiple data repositories. You can limit by date or geographic area.

Full record

Jun 17, 2013 e1001634
Databib
    Databib
This resource is freely accessible Green open access - self archiving

Databib

Databib is a catalog of online repositories of research data. Each repository is described by a record written for data users, data producers, publishers and professional societies, and research funding agencies.

Full record

Jun 17, 2013 e1001635
Digital Library of the Commons from IU
    Digital Library of the Commons
This resource is freely accessible

Digital Library of the Commons from IU

Provides free access to an archive of international literature on the commons, common-pool resources and common property. Provides COiNS data for each citation, which will create a Get VText link if LibX is installed. Full text in PDF when available. 1960s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Digital Research and Scholarship Services Electronic Journals
    Digital Library and Archives
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Digital Research and Scholarship Services Electronic Journals

Ejournals published by the Digital Research and Scholarship Services department of the University Libraries at Virginia Tech. Current list of journals. Individual articles are HTML, entire issues are PDF. 1989-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000463
Directory of Open Access Journals
    Directory of Open Access Journals
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon Gold open access - publishing

Directory of Open Access Journals

A one stop shop for Open Access Journals (journals with a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access). Journals must exercise peer-review or editorial quality control to be included. All subject areas are covered. Uses can search by journal title or browse titles. No searching of contents of journals is provided. Journals listed in the DOAJ will also be listed in our Journal Title Database. 1874-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Dissertations and Theses from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of VirginiaContents of this resource available through Summon

Dissertations & Theses Global from ProQuest

Includes more than 2.7 million citations to dissertation and theses from around the world along with more than 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added yearly. Use ILLiad to request non-full-text theses or dissertations. 1861-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010