Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Social sciences and education

This subject category includes databases covering social sciences and human sciences, including anthropology, communication, education, history, human development, international studies, law, military science, political science, psychology, public administration, and sociology. Use these databases for research and courses in the colleges of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences, Architecture and Urban Studies, and the School of Education.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Daily Life Through History from Greenwood
    Greenwood (Daily Life Through History)
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Daily Life Through History from Greenwood

Daily Life Through History provides full-text encyclopedic articles and primary documents in HTML on the Ancient Worlds and Mesoamerica, from Mesopotamia to Victorian England. Includes color and black-and-white images, illustrations, and maps, chronologies, bibliographies, glossaries, and lesson plans for teachers.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000150
Data Citation Index from Thomson Reuters Web of Knowledge
    ISI Web of Science
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Data Citation Index from Thomson Web of Science

Data Citation Index indexes data sets and studies from open and closed repositories, covering the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. It provides detailed records about each data set, offers links to the raw, primary data when possible, and standardizes citations for this material. 1900-present.

Full record

Jun 9, 2013 e1001627
Data Sharing for Demographic Research (DSDR) from ICPSR
    ICPSR - InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Data Sharing for Demographic Research (DSDR) from ICPSR

DSDR provides resources to demographic data producers and users, including confidentiality and disclosure review, restricted data contract development and data dissemination, a searchable index of important demography and population study data, and a catalogue of publications using data indexed. Data sets are available as SAS and SPSS files.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000238
DataOne
    DataOne
This resource is freely accessible Green open access - self archiving

DataOne

DataONE searches against multiple data repositories. You can limit by date or geographic area.

Full record

Jun 17, 2013 e1001634
Databib
    Databib
This resource is freely accessible Green open access - self archiving

Databib

Databib is a catalog of online repositories of research data. Each repository is described by a record written for data users, data producers, publishers and professional societies, and research funding agencies.

Full record

Jun 17, 2013 e1001635
Digital Library of the Commons from IU
    Digital Library of the Commons
This resource is freely accessible

Digital Library of the Commons from IU

Provides free access to an archive of international literature on the commons, common-pool resources and common property. Provides COiNS data for each citation, which will create a Get VText link if LibX is installed. Full text in PDF when available. 1960s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Documenting the American South (DocSouth)
    Documenting the American South
This resource is freely accessible

Documenting the American South (DocSouth)

A digital publishing initiative that provides online access to primary sources such as texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes fourteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, maps, literary works, oral history interviews, and songs. 1500s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010