Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Agricultural, biological, and medical sciences

This subject category includes databases covering the life sciences: agriculture, biology, and natural resources. Use these databases for research and courses in the colleges of Agriculture & Life Sciences, Natural Resources, Science, and Veterinary Medicine.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

EIS Environmental Impact Statements from ProQuest

EIS indexes citations and abstracts of federal environmental impact statements. EIS extracts the key issues from complex government-released environmental impact statements, converting massive documents into concise, readable abstracts. Each entry includes a clear description of the project, sections on positive impact and negative consequences, and legal mandates. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1985-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000037
EPA Online Library System (OLS)
    Environmental Protection Agency
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

EPA Online Library System (OLS)

The Online Library System (OLS) for EPA’s National Library Network consists of several related databases that comprise the shared library catalog.  Use OLS to locate books, reports, journals, and audiovisual materials on a variety of topics. Then search Addison or use interlibrary loan to access the material. 1900s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
EST Database from NLM
    Entrez databases from NLM
This resource is freely accessible

EST Database from NLM

The EST database is a collection of short single-read transcript sequences from GenBank. These sequences provide a resource to evaluate gene expression, find potential variation, and annotate genes.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Earth and Environmental Science encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Earth and Environmental Science encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across nine subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 42,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Ecology Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Ecology Abstracts from ProQuest

Ecology Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference papers, books, and technical reports covering the ecological aspects of agriculture, biological sciences, and natural resources. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1982-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000035
Encyclopedia of Ecology from ScienceDirect
    ScienceDirect
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Encyclopedia of Ecology from ScienceDirect

The Encyclopedia of Ecology contains over 500 entries on all aspects of ecology. Each article is presented as a PDF, and links to other encyclopedia articles as well as relevant journal articles hosted on ScienceDirect. First edition 2008.

 

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000441
Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics and Bioinformatics from Wiley
    Wiley Digital Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics and Bioinformatics from Wiley

This encyclopedia covers the four major fields in genetics. Content is available in HTML and PDF. To access this publication, you must first establish an account and then login. Click on the Register link to set up an account.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000360
Encyclopedia of Life (EOL)
    Encyclopedia of Life
This resource is freely accessible Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Encyclopedia of Life (EOL)

The Encyclopedia of Life is a collaborative effort to gather and share descriptions of all living things. Content includes photos and videos, bibliographic links, distribution maps, and taxonomies of animals, plants, and microorganisms.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Entomology Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Entomology Abstracts from ProQuest

Entomology Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference papers, books, technical reports, and patents on millions of insects and insect-like species, from fossilized forms to newly discovered species. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1982-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000041
Entrez databases from NLM
    Entrez databases from NLM
This resource is freely accessible

Entrez from the NLM

Search across multiple Entrez-hosted databases from the National Library of Medicine. Entrez is NCBI’s primary text search and retrieval system that integrates the PubMed database of biomedical literature with 39 other literature and molecular databases including DNA and protein sequence, structure, gene, genome, genetic variation and gene expression.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Environment Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Environment Abstracts from ProQuest

Environment Abstracts indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text from journals, conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations, books, government studies and newsletters. It covers agricultural and biological science, social science, and technological aspects of the environment. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1975-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Environment Complete from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Environment Complete from EBSCOhost

Environment Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from journals, conference proceedings, and books on the agricultural, biological, social science, and technological aspects of the environment. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed journals. 1888-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000639
Environmental Engineering Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Environmental Engineering Abstracts from ProQuest

Environmental Engineering Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts of journal articles and conference proceedings in agricultural, natural science, technological, and engineering aspects of environmental engineering. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1990s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000042
Environmental Impact from CABI
    Centre for Agricultural Bioscience International
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Environmental Impact from CABI

Environment Impact indexes citations and full text of journal articles, conference proceedings, government reports, books and ebooks, and other publications on climate change and human impact on the environment. 1910-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1001007
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management from ProQuest

Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management indexes citations and abstracts of journal articles, conference proceedings, government reports, and books in agricultural, natural science, technological, and engineering aspects of environmental sciences and pollution. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1967-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000043