Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Engineering and physical sciences

This subject category includes databases covering engineering and the physical sciences: chemistry, geosciences, mathematics, physics, and statistics. Use these databases for research and courses in the colleges of Engineering and Sciences.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
EECS Technical Reports
    EECS Technical Reports
 This resource is freely accessible

EECS Technical Reports

The Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) Technical Memorandum Series provides a dated archive of EECS research. It includes Ph.D. theses and master's reports as well as technical documents that complement traditional publication media such as journals. For example, technical reports may document work in progress, early versions of results that are eventually published in more traditional media, and supplemental information such as long proofs, software documentation, code listings, or elaborated examples. 1973-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
EIA Official Energy Statistics from the DOE
    EIA Official Energy Statistics
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

EIA Official Energy Statistics from the DOE

Provides policy-neutral data, forecasts, and analyses to promote sound policy making, efficient markets, and public understanding regarding energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment. Includes wide range of information and data products covering energy production, stocks, demand, imports, exports, and prices; and prepares analyses and special reports on topics of current interest.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
EPA Online Library System (OLS)
    Environmental Protection Agency
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

EPA Online Library System (OLS)

The Online Library System (OLS) for EPA’s National Library Network consists of several related databases that comprise the shared library catalog.  Use OLS to locate books, reports, journals, and audiovisual materials on a variety of topics. Then search Addison or use interlibrary loan to access the material. 1900s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Earth and Environmental Science encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Earth and Environmental Science encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across nine subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 42,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Earthquake Engineering Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Earthquake Engineering Abstracts from ProQuest

Earthquake Engineering Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts of journal and trade magazine articles, conference proceedings, books, technical reports, patents, and press releases on all aspects of earthquake engineering and earthquake hazard mitigation. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1971-present.

Full record

Nov 30, 2011
Electronics & Communications Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Electronics & Communications Abstracts from ProQuest

Electronics and Communications Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal, patents, books, and more in the electronics and telecommunication aspects of engineering. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1981-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000038
Encyclopedia of RF and Microwave Engineering from Knovel
    Knovel
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Encyclopedia of RF and Microwave Engineering from Knovel

A compendium of theory, design methods, and applications as well as an examination of technologies and future trends concerning radio frequency and microwave engineering. Each article is a separate PDF.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000002
Energy Citations Database from OSTI
    Office of Scientific and Technical Information
This resource is freely accessible

Energy Citations Database from OSTI

The Energy Citations Database indexes citations and full-text documents on energy and energy‑related scientific and technical information collected by the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). 1943-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Engineered Materials Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Engineered Materials Abstracts from ProQuest

Engineered Materials Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journals, patents, books, and more on all engineering and physical science aspects of engineered materials. You can limit to peer reviewed sources. 1986-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000039
Engineering Case Studies Online from Alexander Street Press
    Engineering Case Studies Online from Alexander Street Press
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Engineering Case Studies Online from Alexander Street Press

This database is on trial through June 1, 2014. Engineering Case Studies Online provides full text reports, videos, event timelines, maps, audio footage and transcripts, blueprints, and other archival content on engineering failures and successes. Please provide feedback on this trial using this online survey..  

Full record

Apr 1, 2014 e1001679
Engineering Research Database from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Engineering Research Database from ProQuest

Engineering Research Database indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference proceedings, patents, and books on all aspects of engineering, management, engineering education, safety, and energy. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1970s-present.  

Full record

Jun 20, 2012 e1001255
Engineering Village
    Engineering Village
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Engineering Village

Engineering Village is the search interface to three engineering databases: Compendex, Inspec, and NTIS. Compendex indexes citations and abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journals, conference papers, books, patents, dissertations, and technical reports. Inspec indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and dissertations in engineering and physical sciences. NTIS indexes citations and abstracts of National Technical Information Service reports and audiovisual materials from sources such as NASA and the departments of Energy and Defense. 1884-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000185
Engineering and Physical Sciences databases from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Engineering & Physical Sciences databases from ProQuest

This database indexes citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, conference papers, reference works, and dissertations (in full text PDFs) across multiple engineering and physical sciences databases on the ProQuest platform. Use the Databases link at the top of the screen to change which databases are searched. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1982-present.  

Full record

Jun 28, 2012 e1001246
Entrez databases from NLM
    Entrez databases from NLM
This resource is freely accessible

Entrez from the NLM

Search across multiple Entrez-hosted databases from the National Library of Medicine. Entrez is NCBI’s primary text search and retrieval system that integrates the PubMed database of biomedical literature with 39 other literature and molecular databases including DNA and protein sequence, structure, gene, genome, genetic variation and gene expression.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Environment Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Environment Abstracts from ProQuest

Environment Abstracts indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text from journals, conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations, books, government studies and newsletters. It covers agricultural and biological science, social science, and technological aspects of the environment. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1975-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Environment Complete from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Environment Complete from EBSCOhost

Environment Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from journals, conference proceedings, and books on the agricultural, biological, social science, and technological aspects of the environment. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed journals. 1888-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000639
Environmental Engineering Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Environmental Engineering Abstracts from ProQuest

Environmental Engineering Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts of journal articles and conference proceedings in agricultural, natural science, technological, and engineering aspects of environmental engineering. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1990s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000042
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management from ProQuest

Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management indexes citations and abstracts of journal articles, conference proceedings, government reports, and books in agricultural, natural science, technological, and engineering aspects of environmental sciences and pollution. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1967-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000043
Ergonomics Abstracts from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Ergonomics Abstracts from EBSCOhost

Ergonomics Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, ebooks, and reference works that cover the health and engineering aspects of ergonomics. 1985-present.  

Full record

Jan 11, 2012 e1000314