Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

General interest

This subject category includes databases are either basic or broad in scope. They include resources that cover multiple subject areas, such as general purpose encyclopedias, large article indexing databases, or newspaper article indexing databases.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
EBL
    EBL ebooks
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link

EBL ebooks

EBL provided ebooks in PDF and EPUB formats. EBL ebooks are licensed for use by current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, and require authentication through Off Campus Sign In whenever you access full text, even while on campus. Adobe Digital Editions is required to read downloaded EBL ebooks.  

Full record

Jun 15, 2012
EBL ebooks
    EBL ebooks
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link

EBL ebooks

EBL provided ebooks in PDF and EPUB formats. EBL ebooks are licensed for use by current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, and require authentication through Off Campus Sign In whenever you access full text, even while on campus. Adobe Digital Editions is required to read downloaded EBL ebooks.  

Full record

Feb 20, 2012 e1001183
ECO - Electronic Collections Online from WorldCat
    WorldCat Discovery
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

ECO - Electronic Collections Online from WorldCat

ECO indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text of journals subscribed to by the Virginia Tech Libraries in all subject areas. Articles are presented in PDF, including original content and images. 1995-Feb 2012.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000268
EIA Official Energy Statistics from the DOE
    EIA Official Energy Statistics
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

EIA Official Energy Statistics from the DOE

Provides policy-neutral data, forecasts, and analyses to promote sound policy making, efficient markets, and public understanding regarding energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment. Includes wide range of information and data products covering energy production, stocks, demand, imports, exports, and prices; and prepares analyses and special reports on topics of current interest.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
ETDs: Electronic Theses and Dissertations from Virginia Tech
    VTechWorks
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

ETDs: Electronic Theses and Dissertations from Virginia Tech

VTechWorks indexes the full text of theses and dissertations written at Virginia Tech, which have been submitted electronically since 1995. It also includes some scanned versions of printed theses and dissertations. You can also browse these documents by author or department. Most documents are freely available, though some documents are restricted to Virginia Tech users only. 1900s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Early English Books Online from Chadwyck-Healey
    Early English Books Online
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

Early English Books Online from Chadwick

Early English Books Online contains scanned page images (GIF and TIFF) of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Coverages includes all subject areas with strong coverage in the humanities, performing arts, and education. Each is full-text searchable. Limited to   simultaneous users.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000275
Ebooks on EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Ebooks on EBSCOhost

The Virginia Tech Libraries provide nearly 50,000 ebooks on the EBSCOhost platform, of which only 1100 are not downloadable for offline/ereader viewing. These ebooks are full-text searchable, and the contents are also cross-searchable with other EBSCOhost databases.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000610
Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2006, from Gale
    Gale Economist Historical Archive
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2007, from Gale

The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete, searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2006. Content emphasizes business and economics, but world politics, science, technology, and culture are also covered. Pages display as JPEGs; use the Save button to generate a PDF of the entire article.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000788
Eighteenth Century Collections Online - ECCO from Gale
    Eighteenth Century Collections Online
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Eighteenth Century Collections Online - ECCO from Gale

ECCO provides full-text books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides, directories, Bibles, sheet music, sermons and advertisements in HTML and PDF. It delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000735
Elsevier's Journal Finder
    Elsevier Journal Finder
This resource is freely accessible

Elsevier's Journal Finder

Enter your paper's title and abstract to find potential journals (from Elsevier only) in which to publish. The tool is designed to:

  • Help less experienced authors select suitable journals for their papers
  • Enable authors working across multidisciplinary fields to identify possible journals
  • Highlight journals that offer open access options, and provide information on publication speeds and impact factors
Jul 18, 2013
Encyclopedia Virginia from the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities
    Encyclopedia Virginia
This resource is freely accessible

Encyclopedia Virginia from the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities

Encyclopedia Virginia is a reference work about the Commonwealth; it aggregates in a single resource information on Virginia history, business, politics, and geography, plus the state’s proud heritage in the arts, religion, culture, and folklife. As the Encyclopedia grows, it will also explore areas of science, medicine, education, and technology. The first phase of Encyclopedia Virginia focuses on topics related to Virginia literature, Civil War history, and twentieth century history.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Essay and General Literature Retrospective from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Essay and General Literature Retrospective from EBSCOhost

Essay and General Literature Retrospective indexes citations to English-language essays from periodicals, annuals, and other publications. Subjects covered include economics, humanities, and social sciences. 1900-1984.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1001015
Ethnic NewsWatch from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Ethnic NewsWatch from ProQuest

Ethnic NewsWatch indexes English- and Spanish-language, full-text articles from newspapers, magazine, and journals from around the U.S. and the world. News coverage is from Asian-American, Jewish, African-American, Native-American, Arab-American, Eastern-European, Appalachian, and multi-ethnic communities. Articles are available in HTML and PDF. 1990-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000315
European Patent Office
    European Patent Office
This resource is freely accessible

European Patent Office Espacenet

Search for information about published patent applications from over 80 different countries and regions (not just in Europe). Based on the PCT minimum documentation, which is defined by WIPO as the minimum requirement for patent collections used to search for prior-art documents for the purpose of assessing novelty and inventiveness.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
ebrary
    ebrary
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

ebrary

The Virginia Tech Libraries subscribe to both individual ebooks (about 100 titles) and the medical package (over 2400 titles) from ebrary. ebrary ebooks require using an ebrary reader: the QuickView Reader, the ebrary Plug-in Reader and the ebrary Unity Reader. The first works in any browser, the later two require download and installation. This search form retrieves only ebooks in our subscription; all of these ebooks are also cataloged in Addison.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000681