Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Humanities and performing arts

This subject category includes databases covering humanities and performing arts. Use these databases for research and courses in the college of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences and the School of Performing Arts.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Early English Books Online from Chadwyck-Healey
    Early English Books Online
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

Early English Books Online from Chadwick

Early English Books Online contains scanned page images (GIF and TIFF) of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Coverages includes all subject areas with strong coverage in the humanities, performing arts, and education. Each is full-text searchable. Limited to   simultaneous users.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000275
Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2006, from Gale
    Gale Economist Historical Archive
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2007, from Gale

The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete, searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2006. Content emphasizes business and economics, but world politics, science, technology, and culture are also covered. Pages display as JPEGs; use the Save button to generate a PDF of the entire article.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000788
Eighteenth Century Collections Online - ECCO from Gale
    Eighteenth Century Collections Online
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Eighteenth Century Collections Online - ECCO from Gale

ECCO provides full-text books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides, directories, Bibles, sheet music, sermons and advertisements in HTML and PDF. It delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000735
Essay and General Literature Retrospective from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Essay and General Literature Retrospective from EBSCOhost

Essay and General Literature Retrospective indexes citations to English-language essays from periodicals, annuals, and other publications. Subjects covered include economics, humanities, and social sciences. 1900-1984.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1001015
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource is freely accessible

European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 from EBSCOhost

European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 indexes citations of printed records (books and similar formats) about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 contains more than 32,000 citations. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples. It will list libraries that own the source documents, though few of these will be available through interlibrary loan. Free access is also available.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000834