Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Research starter

This list includes databases in which you can begin many research topics. It includes databases catering to all levels of user, not just undergraduates. Content of these databases can include reference sources like encyclopedias or dictionaries; articles that give an overview of a topic, issue, controversy, or recent event; or that provide broad coverage to assist in narrowing or refining a research topic. After you have used these databases for background research on your topic, you can move on to more subject-specific databases.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Earth and Environmental Science encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Earth and Environmental Science encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across nine subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 42,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Economics and Business encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Economics and Business Encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across nine subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 30,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Education Research Complete from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Education Research Complete from EBSCOhost

Education Research Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals, books, book chapters, case studies, essays, interviews, conference proceedings, product reviews, and experiments in all areas of education. You can limit to peer-reviewed journals. 1865-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000280
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy from Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy provides full-text, in-depth essays in HTML and PDF on the history of American foreign policy written by scholars and experts. A chronology is also provided.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Encyclopedia of Bioethics from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Encyclopedia of Bioethics from Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Encyclopedia of Bioethics provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on the social, medical, business, and humanitarian issues related to bioethics. Selective biographies and codes, oaths, and policies are included.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries from Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries provides full-text reference essays in HTML and PDF on the business aspects of growing business sectors. Essays include an industry snapshot, organization, background information, pioneering individuals, current conditions, industry leaders, work force data, areas of research, and suggested further reading.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity from Gale Virtual Reference Libarry
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity from Gale Virtual Reference Libarry

The Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on genocide from the ancient world to the present. A glossary or terminology, historical images, contemporary photographs, a filmography, and primary source documents are also provided.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World from Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on the social science and humanities aspects of Islam. Photographs, drawings, maps, charts, and a glossary are also provided.    

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America from Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on the social science, humanities and performing arts, and economic issues related to gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender history in the US. Biographies, directories of LGBT libraries, and a chronology are also provided.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Encyclopedia of Management from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Encyclopedia of Management from Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Encyclopedia of Management provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on the business, economics, technology, and legal aspects of management.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Encyclopedia of Politcal Science from CQ Press
    CQ Press
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Encyclopedia of Political Science from QC Press

The Encyclopedia of Political Science provides full-text essays in HTML on all aspects of political science, including biographies and methodology. Allow popups to see individual essays.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000787
Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America from Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America provides full-text essays in HTML and PDF on the social science, business, and humanities aspects of recreation and leisure activities from Colonial to modern times.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Encyclopedia of Russian History from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Encyclopedia of Russian History from Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Encyclopedia of Russian History provides full-text reference essays in HTML and PDF on the agriculture, architecture, economic, education, social science, arts, humanities, and literature from Russian history.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Encyclopedia of Science Fiction
    Encyclopedia of Science Fiction
This resource is freely accessible

Encyclopedia of Science Fiction

This is the third edition of the Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and is a work still in progress. (We also have the 2nd edition in print.) It provides full-text reference articles in HTML on all aspects of science fiction: authors, artists/illustrators, awards, comics, films and television and radio programs, themes, terminology, publications, fans and fanzines, characters, games, and music.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Encyclopedia of Science and Religion from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Encyclopedia of Science and Religion from Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Encyclopedia of Science and Religion provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF in the areas of science, social science, medicine, and humanities. It include biographies of major figures in the history of science and religion.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics from Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on all aspects of science, technology, and ethics. It also provides eight introductory essays on the general topics covered and biographical entries on persons and a few mythical figures of continuing contemporary relevance. 

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450 from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450 from Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450 provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF about Western colonialism from the fifteenth-century to the twenty-first-century. It also includes maps, pictures, photographs, charts, tables, and a glossary of terms.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution from Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Encyclopedia of the American Constitution from Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Encyclopedia of the American Constitution provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF concerning issues and concepts related to the constitution, court cases, biographies, and judicial decisions handed down by the Supreme Court. It includes a glossary of terminology, a case index, name index, and a subject index.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census from QC Press
    Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census from QC Press
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census from QC Press

This encyclopedia provides full-text entries in HTML on the concepts, politics, history, methods, and results of the decennial census and the continuous American Community Survey of social and economic data.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000207
English Language encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

English Language Encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across nine subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 120,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Environment Complete from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Environment Complete from EBSCOhost

Environment Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from journals, conference proceedings, and books on the agricultural, biological, social science, and technological aspects of the environment. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed journals. 1888-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000639