Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Agricultural, biological, and medical sciences

This subject category includes databases covering the life sciences: agriculture, biology, and natural resources. Use these databases for research and courses in the colleges of Agriculture & Life Sciences, Natural Resources, Science, and Veterinary Medicine.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
FAO Catalogue Online
    FAO catalog
This resource is freely accessible

FAO Catalogue Online

The FAO catalog indexes documents published by FAO since 1945, books added to the FAO library since 1976, and journals held by the FAO library. Use interlibrary loan to obtain documents identified through this catalog.

Full record

May 3, 2013
FAO Corporate Document Repository
    Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

FAO Corporate Document Repository

The FAO Corporate Document Repository houses FAO documents and publications, as well as selected non-FAO publications, in electronic format. It enables users to easily access the accumulated knowledge and information produced by FAO directly on the Internet. 1990s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
FAOSTAT
    Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
This resource is freely accessible

FAOSTAT

FAOSTAT provides time-series records covering 210 countries and territories and international statistics concerning: Production, Trade, Food Balance Sheets Fertilizer and Pesticides, Land Use and Irrigation, Forest Products, Fishery Products, Population, Agricultural Machinery and Food Aid Shipments.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
FDsys
    FDSys
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

FDSys

FDsys provides free access to federal government publications. It indexes the full text (in HTML and PDF) of congressional, executive departments and agencies, and Supreme Court documents. 1907-present.

Full record

Jul 21, 2011
FSTA - Food Science and Technology Abstracts from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

FSTA - Food Science and Technology Abstracts from EBSCOhost

Food Science and Technology Abstracts indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, conference proceedings, books, legislation, patents, reports, and theses and dissertations on the medical and biological aspects of food and nutrition. Full text is available as HTML and PDF. Coverage includes human and pet foods. 1969-present. Limited to   simultaneous users.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000169
Films on Demand
    Films on Demand
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link

Films on Demand

Films of Demand provides streaming videos on social science and life science topics. A login and password are required. The videos use Flash for desktop computers and HTML5-compatible media for mobile devides. Streaming rights expire for content on this platform; see the Addison record for the individual films for expiration dates.  

Full record

Mar 20, 2014 e1001671
Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide from EBSCOHost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide from EBSCOHost

Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from journals, conference proceedings, books, and reports on the agricultural, biological, and natural resource aspects of fish and fisheries. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1700s-present; most content is 1970-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000158
FishTraits Database
    Fish Traits
This resource is freely accessible

FishTraits

FishTraits contains full-text descriptions of freshwater fish found in the U.S.: trophic ecology, body size, reproductive ecology, habitats, salinity and temperature tolerances.  

Full record

Mar 11, 2013 e1001585
Food and Drink encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Food and Drink Encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across four subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 7500 entries. References are linked via Get VText.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Forestry AgNIC
    Forestry AgNIC
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Forestry AgNIC

Forestry AgNIC indexes citations and abstracts from journals, image collections, and more on all aspects of forestry.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Forestry Compendium Online from CABI
    Centre for Agricultural Bioscience International
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Forest Compendium Online from CABI

Forest Compendium contains full-text journal and conference articles, datasheets, maps, and images on all aspects of forestry, including trees, pests, botanical features, and uses. 1980s-present. Limited to  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1001005